We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Well maintained”
Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2007

I stayed at this hostel in mid November, and I quite enjoyed my stay. I travelled on my own and stayed in a 4 bed dorm with a full bathroom. I had great roomates,who were like me- all women travelling on their own. There are quite a few areas where you can chill out, with a nice internet lounge where you candownload photos from your camera to a CD. The location can't be beat. It is right across the street from a huge grocery store, and you are within 5 mins walking distance from restaurants, a movie theatre, and the Te Papa Museum. Great staff as well. I would have no qualms recommending this hostel as a place to stay. Wellington is a great city as well- IMO, a friendlier city than Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ShelleyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 621 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2006

I know this is a Youth Hostel, but the dreaded Lonely Planet etc made it sound like a proper hotel, so maybe we were asking for it when we inexplicably booked 2 nights here.

The reception is fine and we went up to our room, trying to avoid the shouty teenagers wondering around. The room, a double en-suite, was JUST big enough for a tiny "double bed". The hotel is built on a corner of about 4 major Wellington Roads, and it felt like we were standing on the junction itself. There was no way we were going to get any kip, so I asked to change to a room away from the Road, which they were happy to do, except it was not en suite. Still, I agreed. The next room was also absoutely miniscule and all I was thinking was "I want to go to a proper hotel". We went out immediately to minimise the time spent at the hostel and found a restaurant. On returning at around 10.30pm, the teenagers were still running riot. They weren't being badly behaved, just excitable. Then we decided to make the bed...

The sheets they provided were dirty, and covered in long, thick, black hairs. We didn't want to get into the bed. Then the major problem struck us. The walls were so thin, they made Japanese walls look like 3 foot concrete nuclear shelter walls. There was CONSTANT walking around/talking etc from the kids to the oldies who were also on budget holidays, none of whom seemed to work out that maybe there were some others in rooms along the corridor who wanted to get some sleep. The last of the kids went to bed around 2.00am, then the cleaner man started coming round. At about 4.00am, other travellors started getting up for their journeys... Net result - about 20 minutes sleep.

At 7.00am, I called the James Cook Chancellor, a city centre, business hotel and booked in, for a grand total of 140 dollars, only twice as much as the YHA. A total no brainer.

To those travellors NOT on a budget, who think this might be an OK place to stay, BEWARE. It is a horrid little youth hostel, full of students cooking pot noodle at all hours of the day. Never, ever again. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Teutonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

We just spent 3 nights in Wellingtons YHA and found it amazing value. We stayed in room 512. It was much larger than any other budget rooms we'd stayed in on our travels. It had a very comfortable bed, a desk and chair and plenty of hooks. The bathrooms on the floor were spotless and had a hairdryer which was handy. The hostel, despite being large had a somewhat cozy feel due to the warm paint colours and little touches like hammocks in the hallways.
The reception staff were friendly and helpfull ( I would recommend doing the $40 p.p Wellington Rover Explorer Tour-you can basically tell the guide what interests you so tour is catered for you. It was really excellent and great value). The kitchen really makes this place stand out from the crowd. There are two, one small and one large. There is a lot of seating and you feel like you're sitting in a cafe rather than in a hostel. The kitchen has lots of counter space, a large fridge and lots of shelving to store your grub (along with labels to say Hands Off!). There are plenty of hobs and nice touches like a blender and electric tin opener and several toasters. Both kitchen have a hot drinks vending machine and both are immaculately clean.
There is a games room with pool table and 3 pinball machines and a comfy tv lounge. There is also an internet room- $6 for 1 hour $10 for 2 hours- although only two computers are set up to copy stuff to disc.
This is a real 5 star hostel. Its in a brilliant location, only a couple of minutes from Te Papa museum. Its spotlessly clean and well kitted out with everything you could possibly need. Stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank juliedon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

Stayed for two nights, shared a standard double with a friend. Rooms are basic and clean, as are the bathrooms. The common areas are excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The location is fantasic--I was in town for a conference at Te Papa, and I think that this is the closest budget place to Te Papa. Not a party place!

The only problem with this YHA is having to pay to store your bags...I personally think that backpacker's accomodation should offer this free of charge.

Overall, though, it's great and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2006

Would definately recommend this to anyone just in town for the one night en route to catching the inter-island ferry to Picton.

Rooms are average size and clean, beds are a little soft and small, but for one night at the rates on offer this was fine. My room was up a few floors facing the atrium - the only noise seemed to come from the corridors as you could hear people trotting to to the bathrooms every so often (most rooms not ensuite) but having paid only about $60 for a double room in the heart of the city I was happy to put up with it. Any more than one or poss. two nights and I would have wanted somewhere offering a touch more comfort and peace. No probs using the communal showers, there were plenty to go round and were kept clean.

Location is execllent, near bars, restaurants and shops. Free car parking can be found for the night approx. a 8 minute walk away round the waterfront.

2  Thank MrWandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2006

This brand new hostel (opened May 2005) is exceptional! Extremely clean, well furnished, friendly/helpful staff, and a hotel-style layout make this YHA a welcome break from many of the other hostels you will likely encounter traveling through New Zealand.

This YHA is also quite suitable for those of you who do not normall partake in hosteling, but are looking for a clean, economic alternative to some of the more pricey establishments in Wellington.

For the fitness people, there is a popular running course along the waterfront right outside and a public lap pool within a 5 minute walk.

The hostel does not offer any parking (except loading) and finding a spot can be a real pain - I ended up a little over a mile away.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Shropshire, UK
11
Reviewed December 6, 2005

What a fantastic place! Everything you could want and a load more. Great staff, super clean, very well equiped kitchen, small rooms (some with amazing views across the harbour).

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#15 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#1 of 54 in Wellington
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#15 of 54 in Wellington
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#18 of 54 in Wellington
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trek Global
Trek Global
#10 of 54 in Wellington
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $25 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share ensuite dorm rooms to our deluxe private ensuite rooms. With a 5-star Gold Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. Enjoy 2GB free WiFi per day, our onsite espresso bar, the stellar view from our 6th floor laundry (yes, really!), and our amazing location right by the harbour in the CBD. Our friendly staff are on hand to assist and can let you know top travel tips, the best places to park, and help with any travel or activity bookings free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing