We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and cheap hostel”
Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Being spoilt and never stayed at any hotel short of a five star quality, I was really satisfied with the quality of YHA for its pricing. I had never stayed at a hostel before and didn't really know what to expect; but my room, bathroom and bedding were clean and I had lots of fun. Location was convenient to the supermarket, restaurants, cafes, Te Papa and the waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildx22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 604 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2009

Right over the road from Te Papa, this hostel was in a great location. The hostel has good clean double rooms and the kitchens here were huge.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

They have gone green past the point of green, to the point of cheap. The heater only stays on 30 minutes, and then kicks off. This cannot be avoided, we tried and asked.

Also, very very young scene. Pretty clean; there was some mold in the shower. No TV, but we expected this.

GREAT location.

REALLY RUDE, REALLY RUDE staff.

If you are on a budget, perhaps stay here during the summer; during the winter, go somewhere with heat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Elf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

YHA Wellington City was easy to find, in a brilliant location to all the shops, bars, cafes, restaurants and attractions. The staff were absolutely brilliant and helped me out with everything I needed, including info on onward travel. My room was spacious, quiet, had a fabulous view and the bathrooms were always spotless and I never had to queue. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endilwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

The room was a decent size for 4 beds and being on the 6th floor was quiet. It had no lockers but space for your backpacks and was en-suite with a good shower. The heater wasn’t that good and the room quickly became cold once the heater was switched off. The facilities were, as you would expect, very good: big well equipped kitchen, tv room, a very good book exchange, a quiet room for reading. The location was excellent within easy reach of bars & shops and a supermarket opposite. One of, if not the best, YHA in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truthtelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Its been a long time since I stayed in a hostel and I would have to say I am very impressed. We had a family ensuite room (me, hubby and two young children) and it was brilliant. Yes the rooms are small but they are very clean and safe - and cheap! (we got a special deal, kids for free so only NZ$60 a night for the room). And yes there is a little noise but thats part of the fun of staying in a hostel in the city. Our children loved it. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. the communal rooms are modern and brilliantly set up. The location could not be better - easy walking to the fabulour Te Papa museum and lots of great restaurants and cafes. New World Supermarket is right across the road and open to midnight. Parking is an issue but you can get free parking in some areas if you are prepared to walk a little and you can leave your car overnight in the TePap for NZ$6. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRiseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

This was large hostel and the rooms were nice and new but extremely small. The kitchens and communal area, however, were very big and there was plenty of space. The hostel was right across the road form a supermarket and close to the museum. The staff were very helpful and the internet availablility was good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#2 of 53 in Wellington
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#16 of 53 in Wellington
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
0.4 mi away
Gourmet Stay
Gourmet Stay
#1 of 53 in Wellington
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#14 of 53 in Wellington
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $43 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share ensuite dorm rooms to our deluxe private ensuite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. Enjoy 2GB free WiFi per day, our onsite espresso bar, the stellar view from our 6th floor laundry (yes, really!), and our amazing location right by the harbour in the CBD. Our friendly staff are on hand to assist and can let you know top travel tips, the best places to park, and help with any travel or activity bookings free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing