We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel Excellent location”
Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

What can I say, this YHA is excellent especially if it is your first time in wellington. The location is amazing you are right next to everything especially if you want to have a night on the town. The price is average YHA is always more expensive than other hostels but it is almost like a hotel so its worth it every now and again. The rooms are very clean as well as the bathrooms and kitchen facilities are excellent. If you need to park your car in wellington they offer the cheapest all day coupons in the whole city. The parking is a 5-10 min walk along the sea front which is annoying but actually quite enjoyable! The staff are very helpful and if you are not a member like me they find someway to give you something for free. In addition they do have cinema nights and pub crawls etc to help you meet other backpackers which is cool! All in all a very safe place to stay in such a lovely city although it is one of the more expensive options available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hi Leigh,

I am pleased that you found our staff helpful and the Hostel met your needs.

Thanks also for mentioning our Activities Program as it has proved a big hit this year with fellow travellers. The Quiz Night and the walking tours have also proved really popular, so we are currently working on our Winter schedule to continue to showcase the best that Wellington has to offer for free.

Safe travels.

Chris Sperring
Central Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for YHA Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 589 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a well-organized budget traveler's hotel/hostel. The counter staff are well
able to advise on the various local attractions. These are numerous and on wall posters
on the ground floor may be seen ideas for when best to see them. The two dining areas
give a choice when eating in, but are on the same ground floor, and next to one another.

Room Tip: perhaps ask for one with a view .. (or chance seeing a wall) .
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a nice centrally located hostel, the supermarket is located across the road. Bars, shops, bus links and the waterfront are within walking distance.
The kitchen and common areas are spacious and clean. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm room which was clean and felt spacious. There were individual reading lights for the beds and power outlets for each bed, although the individual reading light would light up the whole room!
There was also a hair dryer and hair straightener in the female bathrooms.
They also offer towels for $1 if you forget to bring your own.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great kitchen, clean and plenty of room. The seating areas and tv room was also excellent. The bathrooms were also well laid out with hair dryers and ghds. The rooms were a good size and there were small lights next to the beds. Had a great time staying here and it was in a good location to get to the museum, shops and bars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Missknparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hostel is located in the centre of Wellington, close to the shops and main streets, yet also pretty much at the waterfront. New Zealands national museum of Te Papa is only a short 2 min walk away and a supermarket is located conveniently right accross the street. Just round the corner there are an abundance of clubs and restaurants, yet the hostel itself is quiet. The rooms are perfectly clean, as are the shared kitchen facilities. These have plenty of pots, pans, plates and utensils for everyone to use, and everyone leaves the kitchen in a very tidy state. There are also several industrial sized chillers for guests to store their food. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and made our stay all the more enjoyable. This YHA is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annelise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have stayed in hotels, B n Bs, guest houses and hostels in many places in NZ, this one was well situated but a bit pricey we thought. Everything was fine, except for the bed linen which was most definitely not clean!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in a double room (shared bathroom). The place feels more like a hotel than a hostel.

Pros: good location, clean rooms, excellent kitchen areas, clean bathrooms.

Cons: no on site parking (and the free parking is a 10-15 minute walk away, wifi costs $5 per 24 hours if you're not a YHA member.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmat7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hi Emma,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and leaving a review.

I agree that our location is fantastic for all the good things Wellington has to offer, such as Te Papa, bars and cafes and the waterfront.

This does make parking a vehicle for free tricky and does involves a short walk. However, we offer safe, secure overnight parking at Te Papa for $6 and close proximity parking is $7.50 for the day.

Until 31 May 2014 you can purchase a YHA Memberships for only $21 giving you access to FREE unlimited Wifi in this property and 19 others in our network.

Safe travels Emma.


Chris Sperring
Manager YHA Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.7 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $24 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing