We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"well organized and set up"”
Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“"well organized and set up"”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a well-organized budget traveler's hotel/hostel. The counter staff are well
able to advise on the various local attractions. These are numerous and on wall posters
on the ground floor may be seen ideas for when best to see them. The two dining areas
give a choice when eating in, but are on the same ground floor, and next to one another.

Room Tip: perhaps ask for one with a view .. (or chance seeing a wall) .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    245
    78
    16
    7
See reviews for
50
145
210
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a nice centrally located hostel, the supermarket is located across the road. Bars, shops, bus links and the waterfront are within walking distance.
The kitchen and common areas are spacious and clean. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm room which was clean and felt spacious. There were individual reading lights for the beds and power outlets for each bed, although the individual reading light would light up the whole room!
There was also a hair dryer and hair straightener in the female bathrooms.
They also offer towels for $1 if you forget to bring your own.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great kitchen, clean and plenty of room. The seating areas and tv room was also excellent. The bathrooms were also well laid out with hair dryers and ghds. The rooms were a good size and there were small lights next to the beds. Had a great time staying here and it was in a good location to get to the museum, shops and bars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Missknparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hostel is located in the centre of Wellington, close to the shops and main streets, yet also pretty much at the waterfront. New Zealands national museum of Te Papa is only a short 2 min walk away and a supermarket is located conveniently right accross the street. Just round the corner there are an abundance of clubs and restaurants, yet the hostel itself is quiet. The rooms are perfectly clean, as are the shared kitchen facilities. These have plenty of pots, pans, plates and utensils for everyone to use, and everyone leaves the kitchen in a very tidy state. There are also several industrial sized chillers for guests to store their food. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and made our stay all the more enjoyable. This YHA is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have stayed in hotels, B n Bs, guest houses and hostels in many places in NZ, this one was well situated but a bit pricey we thought. Everything was fine, except for the bed linen which was most definitely not clean!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in a double room (shared bathroom). The place feels more like a hotel than a hostel.

Pros: good location, clean rooms, excellent kitchen areas, clean bathrooms.

Cons: no on site parking (and the free parking is a 10-15 minute walk away, wifi costs $5 per 24 hours if you're not a YHA member.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmat7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi Emma,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and leaving a review.

I agree that our location is fantastic for all the good things Wellington has to offer, such as Te Papa, bars and cafes and the waterfront.

This does make parking a vehicle for free tricky and does involves a short walk. However, we offer safe, secure overnight parking at Te Papa for $6 and close proximity parking is $7.50 for the day.

Until 31 May 2014 you can purchase a YHA Memberships for only $21 giving you access to FREE unlimited Wifi in this property and 19 others in our network.

Safe travels Emma.


Chris Sperring
Manager YHA Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hostel is a very good option for two reasons: Rooms are big and have their own toilets and location. Common areas are big and comfortable as well. For the price you pay and the quality of the hostel I would say it is a very good deal. I had the bad luck to be in a room with three noisy "party all day" kind of guys and I asked to be moved to another room and people at the reception were kind and tried to move me to another room but they were fully booked at the moment. So I would say the only bad thing about this place is that as it is big, the chances of someones annoying in your room is high because a lot of young people stay here. If you wanna party 24/7 you will enjoy this aspect also I suppose.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fer_arg_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,602 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Property: YHA Wellington
Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing