We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the YHA Wellington very much. The staff were friendly and the room on the 6th floor was nice, too. The bathrooms and kitchen were always clean. It's perfectly located to explore Wellington. Most sights are in walking distance. There's a bus stop just around the corner and a big supermarket opposite to the hostel.
I'm looking forward to staying there again during my next visit to NZ.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nici1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for YHA Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 588 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Only stayed for 2 nights (mixed dorm) but had a good experience. Nice mix of people - old and young. Great central location that's close to shops - supermarket across road and restaurants in several nearby blocks. Only downer was railway station was a fair distance away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed in this yha for a couple of nights in a Double private room for a few nights we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here we stayed at base hostels which were really awful, so were pleased to get to a yha! We were surprised when we got to the YHA lovely big kitchen clean lots of utensils big fridges lots of areas to sit down! TV room! And most importantly some lifts to get you up to those high floors! There is lots of information around the hostel on things to do in Wellington our room was adequate a little bit smelly that's the only downfall we had a constant nasty smell in there Our view from the window was of a wall M that was a shame! other than that there was good Wi-Fi was surprisingly good and the bathrooms are clean and the girls bathroom and a hairdryer and GHD straighteners! We were staying again if we visited Wellington and would recommend it to others thanks for the great stay!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sarahkatie1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great hostel location, walking distance to centre and to Te Papa museum. Very spacious 6 bedroom dorm and clean bathrooms with hair dryers supplied. Lots of lounge areas and TV lounge with comfy bean bags and movie night with free popcorn was fun! Kitchen was large and lots of facilities available to cook and large supermarket opposite. Very good value for money! Helpful staff that helped us get to the ferry on time.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank mpat891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Found this quite good and better than I expected this is the 1st backpackers I have stayed in so I now have a taste of what may be good or worse, I found all to be helpful and the bed comfy and the rooms overall were quite good (will stay here again)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieelo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great place to stay!

Renovation of rooms was in progress, with new carpet in hallways but trim not in place yet, etc., it will be even nicer when the work is finished. Two large kitchens and dining room lounges had plenty of space for cooking & eating. Wonderful place to pick up people for board games. Recycling stations on each floor included even unwanted clothing. Lots of posters, flyers, bus schedules, 100 Things to do in Wellington, 100 Things to do in the Rain, etc. The location at the south end of the harbour, neat Te Papa, was handy.

As with all YHAs we've stayed in, our double ensuite room was clean and adequate, though not luxurious. No TV, phone, chest of drawers, closet, microwave, fridge, etc. Those are things we don't need, especially with the great kitchen on the first floor. But the fancy chocolates, coffee + french press, etc., in our room were a nice surprise!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Been to YHA twice and wasn't disappointed. Staff are very accommodating and friendly. Facilities are clean. The YHA is at the centre of the city so everything is within walking distance (and right across New World). Would certainly stay there again, highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinita_gal0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.7 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $24 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing