We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location”
Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Been to YHA twice and wasn't disappointed. Staff are very accommodating and friendly. Facilities are clean. The YHA is at the centre of the city so everything is within walking distance (and right across New World). Would certainly stay there again, highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinita_gal0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for YHA Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 588 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Everything was nice and clean. Close to the ocean, commercial places, bus terminals, Te Papa and virtually everything you would need there.

There was nothing I did not like about this hostel though staffs can be a bit nicer. And I also wish bunk beds had been taller; I took a bottom bunk bed, and I could not sit on it without curling my back a lot because the top one was positioned really low.

Room Tip: I heard some rooms were facing the ocean. Not 100% sure. You might want to check with the front befo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AboveTheSurface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

YHA Wellington is perfect for a stay in the city. Great location, just minutes by foot from the heart of the city and even closer to various venues for unbelievable pies. I got the opportunity to stay in a few different rooms and all of them were extremely clean as were the communal facilities but the icing on the cake is by far the staff. Everyone I dealt with was extremely helpful, more so than I am sure they needed to be to win me over. They all give advice like you are an old friend who they haven't seen in ages. It is clear that they genuinely want you to have a great time in Wellington. They also host free events for their guests. Movie night, Bar Crawls, Guided Tours, etc. It was a great touch when you are trying to get out and meet new people in the city. They are also all very good looking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had a late check in on Friday evening and the over night reception staff were very polite and had my room key ready and waiting. I was sharing a 4 bedroom en-suite room on the 6th floor. The room was very spacious but there was no where to store belongings in the room. The en-suite was large with a metal sink and reasonable size shower. Unfortunately the water pressure of the shower was so abysmal it was difficult to have a decent shower. The common areas were large and clean with plenty of seating available. Wifi is available at the hostel for $5 a day but I believe it is free for YHA members.
My key hadn't been coded properly and I couldn't get into my room after being out for the day but the reception staff quickly sorted this out for me.
On the whole I had a pleasant stay at the hostel and only the shower let it down.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is actually one of my favourite hostels to date, next time I'm in Wellington I'd definately stay here again and would reccomend to any other travellers... great central location, clean and friendly staff... don't actually have anything bad to say!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank alexandraelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA N, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Wow another very kind review. Thanks! Our team work really hard to make this place as cosy as possible so your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Cheers,

Kieran O'Regan
YHA Wellington Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The location was great - close to Cuba Street, Te Papa and supermarket. The 4-people dorm room is bigger than I thought. The staff were friendly. Big kitchen and common space for those who need them. The only thing that could have been improved is the shower - the amount of water flowing from the shower head is very little to have a nice shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennyw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location is excellent; close to a bus stop and supermarket. There was no free internet, which is available. I arrived just before midnight and it wasn't a problem to get a room for me, though they seemed a bit hesitant at first. All was well in the end. I checked in late and checked out very early the next morning, so I can't really speak too much about the hostel, but it was a nice, comfortable stay for the short time I was there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.7 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $24 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing