We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotstel very close to everything (Te Papa, Courtenay Place and Cuba St). I walked all the way to Lambton Quay for the cable car and even to the Parliament Beehive from the hostel. The walk on the waterfront was nice. Even to Oriental Bay.
As for the room, I stayed in a private double bedroom with shared bathroom. The room I was in might be a bit small for a couple though but the bed was very comfy. I was on the 3rd floor and had quite a hard time sleeping because of the noise coming from the lounge on ground floor. The shared bathroom was pretty clean for a Hostel. Note that YHA wlg has at least 300 beds so expect to see lots of people everytime, especially during rush hours for the toilet/shower;

The few staff I met was very friendly. Lots of information about Wellington available there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for YHA Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 588 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hostel is clean and the location is great...close to Te Papa museum and not far from Cuba St. However, it was a nightmare to park my car, partly because the staff gave very unclear directions. If you have a car, they will suggest you do "coupon parking" and will tell you that you need a coupon for parking 10am-4pm. All of the coupon parking signs say 8am-6pm but because you get 2 hours free, it becomes 10am-4pm. The coupon is reasonable-$7.50/day but the nearest parking if you get there late in the day could be 15 to 20 minute walk. You will also be told you have to put the coupon on your dashboard after 8 am or your car will get an expensive ticket, which means daily trips to the car. I had hoped to do laundry while at this hostel but the distance to the car was just too far to haul my dirty and then clean clothes.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The location of this high-rise hostel couldn't be better. It's across the street from a fantastic New World supermarket and one block away from the Te Papa Museum. The rooms and bathrooms are adequate--nothing fancy--and the rooms look out into an inner courtyard which is an unimpressive view. Where this place shines is in the service and amenities. There's a cafe on the ground floor, a 24-hour desk with a concierge who will arrange tours and shuttle service for you at a discount, free towels, a coffeemaker in the room, lockers, and a nicely equipped, if not terribly spacious, kitchen. There are brochures and posters everywhere with suggestions for free and economical entertainment, the best clubs, bargain nights at restaurants, etc. And somewhere (I didn't have time to look for it) there was a movie room where they showed New Zealand films! This was my first experience with YHA (though I'm actually a senior), but I'd definitely rely on them again.

Room Tip: There's no view to be had really, so it doesn't really matter what room you choose.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camptalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The accommodation is what you would expect from a YHA hostel although we were pleasantly surprised to have tea and coffee making facilities in our room and towels which you don't get in all the hostels. The kitchen is well equipped but not that big for a large hostel. Very good location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzySoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was a good experience for every aspect. Dorm room OK, kitchen facilities OK considering the crowd always around there, Wifi OK, common bathrooms OK. People at reception are very helpful and kind. Just 5 min. walk from the Te Papa Museum and the Waterfront, and the supermarket is just across the road. Many bars and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My second stay in the return leg from touring the South Island. It's close proximity to both the centre (and Te Papa Museum) as well as good cheap supermarket opposite rates this a good budget friendly option. No fuss or frills it can be busy note! But give it a try. I tried own room on way our but VERY cheap dorm on way back. TIP:ALLOW A FEW NIGHTS TO REALLY SEE WELLINGTON! Walls were thin on single room and more expensive so opted for dorm room. Joined the YHA International as a result of staying with YHA New Zealand and have been thoroughly pleased with standards PLUS FREE WIFI thrown in. Give it a try.. You don't be disappointed.. But you will make good friends and have a laugh as well !!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelscout123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The place is in a very good location right across the road from a supermarket and a minutes walk from Courtney place which is a lively street in Wellington. Also a good place if you intend on going out to the bars at night as it is literally 30 seconds away. Hostel it self was okay. Staff were friendly, reasonable sized living area, rooms were okay but were very hot at night with no air conditioner. Also although it is close to all the bars we still slept fine and didn't hear any noise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.7 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $24 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing