We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hostel i've stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
ACT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“best hostel i've stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

not that i've stayed in very many. BUT, excellent facilities, clean room, coffee and tea making stuff provided. Cheap wifi $5 for 24 hours, but it's a bit slow. Good location, across the road from a supermarket, well priced luggage lockers.

All in all, there was good service, clean rooms and nice staff considering that it was such a large hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    239
    78
    15
    7
See reviews for
47
145
202
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for four nights at the end of December. When I arrived I was greeted by helpful, friendly staff, and this continued throughout my stay, especially on my birthday when they arranged a very sweet birthday wish on my dorm room door.

The dorms were basic but clean, although the bunks are metal, which means that they are a bit rickety. No lockers, although the rooms have swipe card entry, which is great. My room had an amazing view of the waterfront and a lovely big window.

The biggest selling point to this hostel is its location, easy walking distance to all the sights of Wellington and directly across from a massive supermarket, as well as a two minute walk from the bus to/from the airport. It also has two fabulous fully stocked kitchens. The free WiFi on offer during my stay was also welcomed, although it was limited to common areas downstairs which was frustrating and also meant that common areas were filled with people on laptops, rather than socialising!

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hostel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street front for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

i travelled by myself and i found a really nice place to stay.Mostly brand new building.Kindly staff and great location, clean, big rooms, fab view on the high floors.the only thing you have to worry about is your share room guests :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudietta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Quite a big YHA ! Central location in Wellington, close to the Waterfront and Te Papa Museum, near a bus stop too.
The rooms are clean though not big and the kitchen is huge ! Staff is helpful. There is a New World supermarket just opposite, so this is very handy if you want to cook your own dinner/lunch.

Room Tip: The rooms facing south I think - overlooking the courtyard - get very hot on a sunny day, as the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebra2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the double ensuite room # 319. The room was nice enough but rather noisy because it faces a busy street. There are two common kitchens, which are really well equipped but can get crowded at busy times. It was good fun to read the hostel's 100 tips on what to do in Wellington for free or what to do when it's raining, as well as all the tips for environmentally friendly and sustainable travelling.

Room Tip: Ask for an off-street room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was a very good place to stay. Only complaints are the sheets weren't perfectly clean and it is quite huge and full of children sometimes. The front desk staff are pretty helpful with things to do and how to get around etc.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lianne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I arrived late at night and the front dest staff were excellent, made me welcome and offered great suggestions for my short stay in the city. There was free wifi (unusual in NZ) and a good friendly feel to the place. There's a supermarket just opposite and Te Papa, the National Museum is only two minutes away. Sheets were extremely threadbare but everything was clean and spacious (I had a private room). I didn't use the kitchens as I was just passing through but there's a small coffee bar which is open early.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuthieDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Property: YHA Wellington
Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing