We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brief stay here but i was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“brief stay here but i was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

only stayed here overnight on my way to south island it was clean and very comfortable, in fact i think the bed was the best i slept in on my 6 weeks travelling around!! the staff were very helpful and the hostel is centrally located

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetlaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    239
    78
    15
    7
See reviews for
47
145
202
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed in a mixed dorm with 2 kids (5,7). The room was clean and included an ensuite. The staff were helpful and gave good tips on where to go and what to do. The Kitchens were very well stocked with all kinds of utensils and there was plenty of room for our groceries in the shelves and in the fridges. I can't really find fault with the YHA Wellington - it is a superb backpackers and while we were there it was booked out, a great sign of popularity. There was all that we needed and more. The best thing about this property is the location. It was a short walk to town, Te Papa, the waterfront, cafes, resturants and the bus-stops. All-in-all a highly recommended hostel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaueli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Pros
- Suberb location with a supermarket just across the street. Great when you're craving for a late night snack!
- Staffs were friendly and helpful
- Rooms were quiet and clean. I stayed in three different hostels in Wellington and only had a good night sleep with YHA
- Spacious dining and kitchen area
- Offers dinner meals to guest (the menu changes everyday!)

Cons
- Internet charges were expensive ($1 for 15 mins) but atypical of YHA standard I guess
- Maximum stay of 10 nights only. This was a problem because I was using YHA as a base while I looked for an apartment and I liked my visit so much but couldn't extend. I had to break up my stays there by sleeping at other hostels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flairista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
286 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Nice, modern, high capacity hostel. Great location. In the midst of the waterfront area. Great spacious kitchens. Rooms sterile but quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was simple but clean and comfortable. The shared bathrooms were spotless and even had a hairdryer. The shared kitchens were really well equipped and the staff were incredibly helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

I have no doubt that among hostels this is certainly one of the better ones. But it just felt so clinical and modern and impersonal that it left us quite cold. The place is like a rectangle conveyor belt for backpackers and has no character whatsoever.

The shared facilities were ok, two kitchens were large and had a lot of hobs with lots of equipment - though still majorly busy all the time. There are 2 common area, plus a TV room and reading room. Our shared bathroom was kept clean and the hair-dryer was bonus.

Our twin room was pretty titchy, especially for the price, and really felt a university dorm room. Wireless was expensive, but same as at all YHA's. Staff were not rude, but not overly friendly - doing the bare minimum I would say.

Location is pretty good, opposite a supermarket and 5 mins from Te Papa, 5 mins to bus stop. Train station is about half an hour walk.

We found it noisy at night. No aircon means the windows needs to be kept open and there was a lot of noise from nearby rooms and the common area.

It's nothing special, but nothing horrendous either.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Huge hostel but not unfriendly. Great kitchen/communal facilities/helpdesk. No disturbance/noise in the night. I was in a 4 bed share with ensuite which was great, huge window with views out over to the sea. Opposite a big New World supermarket. No parking outside but they direct you to parking (free at weekends). Cleaning staff efficient.
Walking distance to EVERYWHERE in Wellington centre.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vettyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Property: YHA Wellington
Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing