We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet and a Spa bath at last!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Court Motor Lodge
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet and a Spa bath at last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Myself and a friend treated ourselves to a short getaway (3 nights) before the xmas rush and to celebrate our belated birthday's. I found Victoria Court Motor Lodge online whilst searching for an apartment with a spa bath. Upon booking I had requested an upstairs unit after reading previous reviews about some noise if you stay downstairs. I can honestly say that we both throughly enjoyed our stay at Victoria Court Motor Lodge I had received an upstairs unit as requested and on arrival we were greeted with a smile, maps, complimentary small container of milk, and an assortment of really nice coffee, tea and biscuits in the apartment. Since I live in a highrise appartment with just a shower having a spa bath was of utmost importance to me and boy did I sink into that luxurious spa bath with a glass of bubbles in my hand and a rather loud sigh of relief! The spa bath was fabulous :-) Location is also a major plus for staying here we walked everywhere so a car is not really needed. It is also rather quiet here considering the number of units and our unit was clean and tidy. One thing I did notice though is that our unit was not vacuumed daily during our stay and our spa bath had not been cleaned on our last night. The both of us were having a spa bath each nightly. Overall though I would highly recommend staying here and I would definitely return to Victoria Court Motor Lodge should I return to wellington again.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs unit If you do not want to hear people walking about and making noise above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    88
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
63
76
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed a night in the Victoria Court recently, in an executive suite. The plus was the friendly welcome we received from the lady at Reception and the free parking and spa bath. From there it slid downhill. We weren't really sure what was 'executive' about our room, it had the pulling away wallpaper, crack in the bathroom sink type of look, all liveable but not really 'executive'. The bed was very firm, so much so that I tossed and turned all night trying to find some comfort. (My partner found it ok). As we were getting ready to leave we noticed the big cockroach in the bathroom, never a good look. And then to round off the experience the man at Reception couldn't have been surlier. He literally said the absolute minimum needed to see us on our way, no smile, no greeting, and didn't bother asking us how the night was. All rather disappointing and I probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great place to stay, so close to everything , walking distance to city centre and restaurants.
Rooms are very clean , good parking. Good breakfast available and very friendly staff We found our every need cheerfully delivered.This is definitely the place to stay in Wellington.Our 2 night stay was so easy and relaxed , we look forward to our next trip to Wellington and will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent a lot of time looking for a motel with parking in Wellington and came across the Victoria Court. This is a very well located, very clean motel with comfortable quiet rooms. We stayed on the top floor (luckily they have a elevator). Our room was clean, shower great and bed comfy. Cuba Street close by and easy to get to through the back gate. We walked around the shopping and business areas which are all in easy reach. As we caught the early ferry, we had to leave early and had no problem except the lift doesn't work early (completly understandable) and we had to carry our luggage downstairs. All in all great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Unbeatable location, walking distance to everything. The motel rooms are set back from the road so it was nice and quiet. We had a one bedroom unit for a family of 4 so the kids had their own bedroom and individual beds. Nice little kitchen and big spa bath, everything was very clean. Our heater intermittently made a really loud rattling noise which disturbed my sleep so had to turn it off. There was a fan heater that I was able to use to keep the chill out of the room. The guest laundry was handy but the dryer only went for about 20 minutes at a time so chewed through a few $2 coins to get clothes dry. The manager very kindly let us leave our car in the car park for the day after we checked out which was much appreciated. I would recommend this motel to others and would happily stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank verygenki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Absolutely shocking and disgraceful management. Spa not working in room and left me standing there for half an hour before I rang again. response was its not working & he hung up. No explanation or apology. wanted individual menus done. when I ordered my hubbys for 7am and mine for 8am ( we had different meeting times), no brekkie on time. when I rang office was told they had changed times to suit them & he hung up. Well had enough by then and packed up, went to pay bill and still got no apology. when I enquired why I was treated like this response was " Ive been busy & dont have time for this". I said why are you so rude, is it because Im maori? Response was " You said it now get out". Was very quick to take $150 for the night though. .Never thought I would witness racism like that. they used to be a lovely place to stay but never again. change of management is needed to bring back some standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chiwenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

A great location in easy walking distance around the city of Wellington. No steep hills to climb back to your accommodation. Cuba St around the corner with some great places to eat. It was a bonus to have free parking on site. We walked to museum, CBD, botanical gardens and didn't use the car during our 2 day stay.
The 2 bedroomed apartment was clean, well equipped and comfortable for a family.
Lady at reception was very friendly and willing to assist.
Did find the charged internet fees a bit pricey, and you could only have one device connected at a time.
Very Affordable, and highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Infinity_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Court Motor Lodge

Property: Victoria Court Motor Lodge
Address: 201 Victoria Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Court Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are superior accommodation offering studios, one bedroom apartments, two bedroom apartments (sleep up to six), executive studios and executive suites. All rooms have there own bathrooms (most with spas) and cooking facilities. We have free off street parking and laundry. Being centrally located (50 metres from Cuba Mall), there is no reason to drive. Surrounded by some of the best restaurants Wellington has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Court Motor Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing