We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great location. Easy walking distance to most of wellington cities highlights. Rooms of a nice size. A little disappointed about the gym facilities and lack of pool but then again who wants to sit in the hotel and not wander this lovely city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Cathy_OConnor,
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here in Wellington, and hope that you will get the opportunity to visit us again soon. Many thanks for providing a review.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    515
    173
    43
    38
See reviews for
110
527
63
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our visit here was wonderful, the hotel was luxurious, and we even got upgraded to a larger room which was a pleasant surprise! The staff were great, the room was amazing, the dinner was delicious (a little pricey but was worth it).
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Melissa G,
I very much appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay, highlighting the service of our staff and your dining experience. It is always such a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Wellington.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I took our first weekend off in many years and spent it in Wellington at the Amora. We were greatly impressed when met at the door by Bipin, who carried our bags in and started the check-in process for us. The front staff, though young, were kind and attentive and very polite.
We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed good service and fine fare. Our weekend was just right and we were impressed by the professionalism of all the staff. Not once did we note staff idly chatting among themselves and ignoring the customers. They were very focused on customer satisfaction and gave the time and space needed for decision making.

Well done, we will be back.

Room Tip: As all rooms are sea facing you will be treated to fine views no matter where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Aaron U,
It was fantastic to read your comments in relation to the service of our staff, and your dining experience in our Grill Restaurant, and I will pass on your feedback to our team who I am sure will be encouraged by your review. I do hope you both get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I travel quite a bit with work and the Amora is a very good centrally placed hotel. Probably good for tourists as well as its close to museum etc. breakfast very good. Didn't check out gym etc but my colleague did and said they where fine. Stay quite often in Wellington and Amora is probably my favorite mid priced range hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickmiller583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mickmiller583,
I was delighted to read your review and look forward to providing you with your hospitality requirements on many more occasions in the future! Thanks for your fantastic feedback, we hope to see you back at the Amora soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here recently for a conference. All of the staff were attentive and helpful. Food in restaurant was good. Stayed in a Club room (with lounge access) and enjoyed the 'peaceful' breakfast each day and the ability to escape in the afternoon and enjoy the view with drinks and canapés. Large bathroom. Amenities ok. Gym quite small. Great views.

Room Tip: The Club Floor is worth the extra spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenallan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Jenallan18,
I very much appreciate your feedback, and was pleased to read that you made good use of our Club Lounge facility as a place to escape to and relax. Thank you for taking the time to provide a very encouraging review.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I understood refurbishments had been completed. This was not the case. We also had a cleanliness problem with our toilet. We were disappointed with the lack of car parking too. This was a result of the recent earthquakes. It was great to see Bippen in the foyer still doing a stifling job greeting people.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Graham L,
I have taken note of your comments and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I do hope you will consider a return visit to the Amora Hotel in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

OK I am biased and I admit that up front. This was my 100th stay at the Amora hotel and I am proud of it.

I suppose I have over the years become accepting of the institutions’ idiosyncrasies and I have instead basked in the warm reception I received every time I show my face at the door.

The food is really very good (oddly not a lot of hotels are good at food) and the way the events team work to make each event a special occasion is laudable.

I find the beds comfortable and the fact that every room (that I have stayed in!) has a wonderful outlook (mostly of the harbour) is pretty special.

I love the chocolates on turn down time and the person who fulfils that role.

And of course the wonderful doorman who is now in his i thin 21st year at the door. Thank you.

For the meantime I have stopped staying at this lovely hotel because I have taken a permanent apartment in Wellington, but I really miss all the ‘hello’ and ‘how are you this morning?’ comments and the sense of coming home when I walk into a room.

If you can afford to, I recommend the suites, they are spacious and comfortable without being overly opulent (that said there are a couple that are pretty opulent) and the access to the Club lounge reinforces the sense of individual treatment.

Anyway all this to publicly express a huge vote of thanks to all the staff at Amora for all your welcoming warmth and helpfulness over the previous few years. I will be back and I always recommend your hotel other travelling folks.

Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David43Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear David43Oliver,
I am so appreciative of your wonderful feedback, and have forwarded a copy to my team who work hard to deliver a superior service to our guests. This is such an encouraging review for us here at the Amora, it feels wonderful to know that you have felt looked after, and like a part of the Amora family! We are grateful for your loyalty to us, and although as you mentioned, your stays won't be as frequent, we do hope that you get the opportunity to visit us on many more occasions in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Property: Amora Hotel Wellington
Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing