We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Welly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Due to Wellingtons earthquake prior to our stay, we were unable to park at the hotel, but the staff member who checked us in was very friendly and was able to tell us parking venues that were open and were within a short walking distance of the hotel. We had the most amazing views of Wellington Harbour. Our room on the 8th floor, was modern, clean and very comfortable, (just like the photos on their website). Although a tad dated than the room, the bathroom was fine for us, clean and tidy with good lighting.
The Amora is perfectly located for easy access to all the top sightseeing spots, restaurants, theatres, shopping or just a walk along the waterfront (which is a must). We will definitely choose stay here again for a weekend getaway!...Great service...Great hotel...Great weather!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Tanya H,
It was a pleasure to read your review, especially in relation to the cleanliness of your room and the superb location we enjoy here at the Amora Hotel Wellington. We hope this experience might entice you back for a return visit in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

On Visiting the Amora hotel Wellington on A short break from Christchurch we experienced a disorganised hotel with NO emergency plans in place.
for a country that sits with a high earthquake area we were amazed by the lack of planing the staff left the hotel without checking if all the clients were out of the building. the emergency routes lead into a deserted kitchen with pan and cookers still on which in a EQ situation is not the best.

As we Are form an area of New Zealand that is more experienced with EQ we felt that the staff were like Blind sheep with No organisation or plan in place for such events.

A bit of Advise to all travellers to NZ I would advise them to check the worthiness of the building by asking for the hotels building code level anything below 67% AVOID AT ALL COSTS this information as to be made available on request it tells you if the building is prone to earthquakes

Dont let me put you of wellington or NZ its a great city and country Just Be Building aware
from middle earth Happy travailing

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HIGHLIFE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a lovely room with a very comfy bed, magnificent views which I could of looked at for hours but that buffet breakfast was out of this world!!
The location is fantastic everything is right on your door step - shopping,restaurants, bus links and nightlife!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear srenner,
Thank you for some fantastic feedback! We hope to see you back again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great location is No# 1 remark. Room was $185 a night and was just like the photo, great view, great restaurant. Bathroom could be updated a little. Ideal for CBD, Courtney Place, Te Papa or the shows that are on, lovely waterfront, restaurants and prime shopping all at very close walking distance. The service was pretty ok and for a hotel of this quality I expected it too, it didn't stand out as exceptional but at the same time no complaints either. Beautiful coffee - but we got exceptional coffee throughout the city!

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront view. We were Room 513, 5th floor. Great lifts, fast and clean.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Carol K,
Thanks for providing feedback of your stay. I have taken on board your comments and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Large comfortable hotel with all the usual amenities the business traveler would expect. Close to several good restaurants & bars, including the many waterfront & city locations. Professional staff, and clean well designed rooms. It is a large corporate hotel, and that's clearly their target market - it does lack the charm & quirkiness you will find in many other Wellington accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Ben M,
I appreciate your feedback and am pleased to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and the professional service of our staff. I do hope you will consider a return visit in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I booked two rooms for myself, my daughter and her bridesmaids to go wedding dress shopping in Wellington. The staff were friendly and efficient upon arrival. Rooms were large and clean and very nicely presented. Although we had a car with us, we used the valet parking option and left the car at the hotel while we walked to all the wedding shops - very handy location for tourist activities, shops and waterfront. During our very short stay we had to get the car out of parking twice to pick bridesmaids up from the airport - staff were very obliging and brought the car down promptly both times.
Rang room service for some champagne flutes - these were delivered promptly by another friendly staff member.
I would definitely stay at the Amora again.

Room Tip: One room was deluxe king - had one e-n-o-r-m-o-u-s bed - plenty of room two people. The second room...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH4RRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear SH4RRY,
It was a pleasure to read your review, and I hope that your daughter was successful with her wedding shopping endeavours! I wish you and your daughter all the very best for the big day, and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our room was spotless, very well appointed with high-class decor and very comfortable beds. The public areas we saw were immaculate, and the breakfast was very good. However, the bathroom tiles in our room had been poorly repaired which spoiled the image; the mini-bar fridge wasn't the quietest, and while the air conditioning was efficient I suspect it would have been too noisy to run all night.

To be fair these are only niggles. The accommodation was entirely acceptable and we would happily stay here again. However the rough edges let the room down a little, which was disappointing given the price.

Room Tip: Our first floor room experienced a bit of street noise in the early morning.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Ross Y,
I have taken on board your comments and appreciate your feedback. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $109 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing