We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a lovely room with a very comfy bed, magnificent views which I could of looked at for hours but that buffet breakfast was out of this world!!
The location is fantastic everything is right on your door step - shopping,restaurants, bus links and nightlife!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear srenner,
Thank you for some fantastic feedback! We hope to see you back again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    515
    173
    43
    38
See reviews for
110
527
63
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great location is No# 1 remark. Room was $185 a night and was just like the photo, great view, great restaurant. Bathroom could be updated a little. Ideal for CBD, Courtney Place, Te Papa or the shows that are on, lovely waterfront, restaurants and prime shopping all at very close walking distance. The service was pretty ok and for a hotel of this quality I expected it too, it didn't stand out as exceptional but at the same time no complaints either. Beautiful coffee - but we got exceptional coffee throughout the city!

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront view. We were Room 513, 5th floor. Great lifts, fast and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Carol K,
Thanks for providing feedback of your stay. I have taken on board your comments and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Large comfortable hotel with all the usual amenities the business traveler would expect. Close to several good restaurants & bars, including the many waterfront & city locations. Professional staff, and clean well designed rooms. It is a large corporate hotel, and that's clearly their target market - it does lack the charm & quirkiness you will find in many other Wellington accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Ben M,
I appreciate your feedback and am pleased to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and the professional service of our staff. I do hope you will consider a return visit in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I booked two rooms for myself, my daughter and her bridesmaids to go wedding dress shopping in Wellington. The staff were friendly and efficient upon arrival. Rooms were large and clean and very nicely presented. Although we had a car with us, we used the valet parking option and left the car at the hotel while we walked to all the wedding shops - very handy location for tourist activities, shops and waterfront. During our very short stay we had to get the car out of parking twice to pick bridesmaids up from the airport - staff were very obliging and brought the car down promptly both times.
Rang room service for some champagne flutes - these were delivered promptly by another friendly staff member.
I would definitely stay at the Amora again.

Room Tip: One room was deluxe king - had one e-n-o-r-m-o-u-s bed - plenty of room two people. The second room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH4RRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear SH4RRY,
It was a pleasure to read your review, and I hope that your daughter was successful with her wedding shopping endeavours! I wish you and your daughter all the very best for the big day, and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our room was spotless, very well appointed with high-class decor and very comfortable beds. The public areas we saw were immaculate, and the breakfast was very good. However, the bathroom tiles in our room had been poorly repaired which spoiled the image; the mini-bar fridge wasn't the quietest, and while the air conditioning was efficient I suspect it would have been too noisy to run all night.

To be fair these are only niggles. The accommodation was entirely acceptable and we would happily stay here again. However the rough edges let the room down a little, which was disappointing given the price.

Room Tip: Our first floor room experienced a bit of street noise in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Ross Y,
I have taken on board your comments and appreciate your feedback. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had booked this for the end of an extremely busy weekend for my husband and myself, and took advantage of the "Runaway" package. We were on the 7th floor and enjoyed beautiful views of the city at night and a lovely sunrise in the morning, though if I had been trying to have a sleep-in, the room would have been too bright. The bathroom has definitely had better days but was adequate. Some of the new grouting was already starting to peel and the air-conditioning vent was really dusty and dirty. On the air-conditioning: it was really noisy during the night. Sounded like an old fridge starting up. Eventually became used to it. The complimentary bubbles and bread before dinner were lovely (and the bread plentiful). The Grill menu was rather limited but the salmon was delicious. We had to ask waiting staff what the package included. Twice. Was not clearly explained. The breakfast, however, was amazing. Best breakfast we have had in a long time. The variety and the freshness were amazing. Pity a decent coffee wasn't included in the package. The mid-day checkout was great (though the housekeeper wanting to clean our room before we had left wasn't so good) and the valet service is recommended. The reception staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetulip10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear bluetulip 10,
I have read through your comments and will address the issues that you have raised. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and view, breakfast, and the service of our reception and valet staff, and hope that you will consider a return visit in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Room wasn't quite ready at 2pm to check in but friendly staff were very helpful and kept us informed. The breakfast was delightful with a good buffet selection. The room was well appointed however the king bed was two singles joined together.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napierrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear napierrussell,
Thanks for your feedback; I have taken note of your comments and I'm pleased to read that you found our staff to be friendly and you enjoyed your breakfast. I hope you get the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Property: Amora Hotel Wellington
Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing