We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, great location”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here overnight after flying in from Melbourne and had to catch the ferry to the South Island early next morning. Was what I expected for the price, room was large, bed comfortable, could open a window to get fresh air but was quite noisy location. Seems Sat night is the night of ambulances and police car sirens! Bathroom great. Easy walking distance to Te Papa Museum and shops. Check in was fast, staff very pleasant. Did ask them to book a cab for the next morning but when we got downstairs, it was clear they hadn't done so but no big deal and a cab was there in 5 minutes as it was very early. I would be concerned if you needed a cab in peak hour and you had to be somewhere by a certain time. Breakfast was good. There is construction right across the road which didn't bother us as we left early on a Sunday morning but I think it would be annoying during the week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackjenmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Blackjenmay,
I appreciate you taking the time to provide a review, and was pleased to read your comments in relation to our location, rooms and breakfast; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will ensure that your experience with booking a cab is followed up and apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. I do hope you get the chance to visit us again here in Wellington.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    515
    173
    43
    38
See reviews for
110
528
63
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I spent a night at the Amora in Wellington and enjoyed my stay. Was pleasantly surprised to discover I had been put in a suite which added to the experience very nicely. The Club breakfast was nice and conveniently located on the same floor. The bed was comfy and I slept well. The view out to the harbour was superb. Staff were helpful and courteous. Enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Get upgraded to a suite and you should be fine ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Adrian K,
It was great to read that you had a pleasant stay here at the Amora Wellington; I hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in Wellington last week, and chose the Amora. It is so close to the waterfront, it is an easy stroll to the Te Papa museum and lots of other attractions. You can see the water from the upper floors, although we were also granted a view from our second floor room. Our arrival was seamless, checkin was fast and efficient. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was great. The bed was really comfortable (there is even a pillow menu). The bathroom was roomy, very clean and had both a bathtub and shower. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic.
The Te Papa museum is right across the street - you can't miss it, you can see it from the hotel entrance. I highly recommend it. The waterfront is right there, and is a great place to walk or run. Cuba Street is only a block away, and has lots of great delicious restaurants. THe hotel is a perfect hub to explore Wellington. We did not eat at the hotel, but found lots of delicious bars, restaurants and cafes within a short walk.
All the staff were exceptionally helpful in all our dealings with them. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maliwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear maliwoo,
Thank you for providing a wonderful review! I sounds like you had a fantastic stay in Wellington, and I hope your experience helps entice you back to the Amora Hotel for a return visit to Wellington.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My partner and I decided to book into the Amora, so that we could go out on the town and both have some drinks without worrying about getting home to the suburbs. They charged us $25 extra to park the car overnight. Check in was easy and the room was lovely. The problems started at 1.30 am when I realised it was raining - inside! Water was pouring down the walls and through the ceiling vents. We rang reception and told them and they said 'we know'. When we asked what was happening, they said they were onto it, and asked if we wanted to move to another room. As the bed was still in a dry area we said no and eventually the water stopped, and we went back to sleep. At 7.30 am someone unlocked the door and barged into our room, swore and charged out again. And at 8.30am the pile driver on the working site next door started up. The carpet was sodden and we laid all the towels on the floor to get to the bathroom, and eventually managed to get some extra towels from housekeeping. Checkout was at 10am, and took some considerable time as there were quite a few people trying to leave and only one person on the desk and one person taking care of the car retrieval. Nothing was said about the upheaval of the night, and when I mentioned that we would be in no way accountable for the damage to the room, the receptionist looked surprised, and said she was sorry. We were still charged the $25 for the parking, and no offer of a discount or a breakfast voucher. I contacted the manager later that week and he apologised and said to b sure to let him know the next time we booked and he would make sure we were looked after. I don't think we'll ever stay there again. Any hotel can have problems but how they are dealt with is how they will be judged.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bubbles098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear bubbles098,
I was disappointed to read your comments in relation to your stay with us. I have taken note of your feedback; if you could possibly give me a call on 04 473 3900 to discuss your experience further it would be much appreciated.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Amora was perfect for a work trip. Located centrally, easy walk to restaurants etc.
Early check in was no problem, staff were friendly and efficient.
The room was nicely appointed and stylish. The extra touches like the bathrobes & cookies with the tea & coffees were appreciated.
The bed was huge and really, really comfortable with heaps of pillows to choose from. It is not often I sleep well on the first night in a hotel, but this was a great nights sleep.
Bathroom was bit worn, could do with an update. The shower head over the bath was too low and difficult to adjust. But that would be my only negative.
Breakfast was good, buffet style but plenty of choice.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Pip H,
It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Amora Hotel and in particular that you had a great night's sleep, which is of course one of our major objectives for our guests! It is always a pleasure to get good feedback, and I hope that you get a chance to make a return visit in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel 4 times in the last few weeks. The rooms have been redecorated and are very clean and crisp. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Had the occassional minor error but it has been more than made up for by the staff enthusiasm and passion. Room service food is excellent.
There are a couple of issues however. The bathrooms were never refurbished and are still in the original 1980's decor...this jars somewhat against the rest of the room decor. Also in 3 of the 4 rooms I've stayed in the air conditioning was extremely noisy. Air con controls have obviously been replaced as they are new and simple to operate, but suspect the units are still from the same era as the bathrooms.
Answer to the later problem is to try and get an upper floor room. Level 7+ and ideally a high number 14+ for a room number. This gets you above the worst of the street noise and away from the building site across the road. Then on a hot night you can leave the window open without getting disturbed too much.
Otherwise all good.

Room Tip: See above - high floor, high room number
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear gregorus,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have taken on board your comments and appreciate your feedback. I was pleased to read that you found our Room Service to be of an excellent standard. We do hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Wellington in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights. We booked to be on the club floor where you have access to the concierge lounge on the advice of fellow Trip Advisor reviews.This was well worth the extra money as we had a lovely view of the water. THe room had all the amenities and was very clean. Being on the club floor also provided us with access to the concierge lounge where breakfast was free as well as wine and ourdouerves in the evening. This congierge lounge was one of the nicest we encountered on our whole trip throughout New Zealand and Australia.The service in all parts of the hotel was excellent and they also had laundry facilities which is very convenient when you are travelling for a long period of time [7weeks]. Checking in was a bit frantic as they have a little area to receive you if you are driving a rental car but they were very helpful in assisting us to proceed to the registration desk. The hotel is in an ideal location where you are close to the waterfront as well as being in walking distance of all the best restaurants and the Te Papa museum which is a must to see. We dumped our rental car as soon as we arrived at the hotel as you cannot take a rental car on the ferry to the south island and you really don't need a car in Wellington. The hotel was an excellent choice and we would definitely return on a future visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the waterfront on the club floor [10th]
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Edmonton Travels,
It was such a pleasure to read your review, and I was delighted to read that you rated our Club Lounge experience as one of the nicest that you experienced during your trip through New Zealand and Australia! I hope you had a fantastic trip, and that you get the opportunity to visit us in Wellington again.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Property: Amora Hotel Wellington
Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing