We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amora Hotel Wellington
Nearby Hotels
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$84
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$166
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$118
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
$162
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$200
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$57
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveler rating
420
513
173
43
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
513
173
43
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewste papaclub roomgreat locationmichael fowler centreacross the roadvalet parkingwellington harbourbuffet breakfastspacious roompillow menuharbour viewshower headking bedfree wificuba stnew zealanda bit tired
Filter
Updating list...
818 - 823 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our stay at amora could have been more enjoyable if our request for a harbour view had have been granted. Instead we were given a room on the second floor, the first floor of rooms and the hotel definitely was nowhere near full. I did not feel the reception staff were very welcoming either.
The room was clean and quiet considering it is on a main road but not nice looking out on a wall of a building when we could have experienced a lovely view.
The hotel is handy to Courtney place for eating out and te papa museum is across the road.
The pillow menu is a nice touch.
The porter was so much more welcoming than the reception staff.
Parking is expensive here.
Would have returned here in the future it our request for a harbour view had been considered, but will look elsewhere in future as it is not cheap to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandandsealovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear sandandsealovers,

Thank you for providing a review. I have noted your comments in relation to the service of our reception staff and will address the issues that you have raised. I was pleased to read however that you found your room clean and quiet, and that you enjoyed the use of the pillow menu, which has become a popular facility for our guests. I do hope you will consider a return visit in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Despite being quite clearly a businees hotel we enjoyed our two night stay whilst there on holiday.
The staff were efficient and helpful to our needs.
The room was spacious, clean and tidy - we had a harbour view which was nice.
Good proximity to the main eating/drinking areas on Courtenay Place as well as the shops and sites.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Mojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Mr_Mojito,

I am pleased to read that your stay met your expectations, especially in terms of service and cleanliness which are areas where we provide a lot of training and particular attention here at the Amora Hotel. I appreciate your feedback and I do hope you get the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is clearly a business hotel but was OK for us on a holiday trip to Wellington.....breakfasts as always at hotels are expensive but there are plenty of cafes nearby..one night breakfast was included but of course not the Flat White!!
Spacious room, clean and quiet despite next to main road.

Room Tip: Keep high here rahter than ground level although still was quiet at level 5.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Dazelem,
Thank you for providing feedback of your stay, which assists us in making improvements where needed. It was good to read that you found your room quiet, clean and spacious, and I hope you can visit us again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a great stay at Amora Hotel in Wellington. Very professional and efficient staff; beautiful and well maintained rooms; great harbour view and LOVED the 'pillow menu' where you can select your desired pillow (hypo-allergic / down / whatever) :)
Didn't get to sample their food but for a one night stay close to all the touristy things in the centre of Wellington - this was a perfect choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room as high up as possible with harbour view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuneLeRenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear SuneLeRenard,
It was a pleasure to read that you had such a positive experience during your stay, and that you made use of our 'pillow menu' which I hope helped to achieve a great night's sleep! I do hope you get to visit us again soon, and perhaps get the opportunity to sample the dining that we have on offer in our Grill Restaurant.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Amora several times over the last decade, and love the proximity to the water, shops, cafes, Te Papa Museum, City Art Gallery and Oriental Bay. Our room on the 8th floor was spacious and comfortably furnished with a king bed, writing desk overlooking the harbour, and lounge chair with footstool, also beside the window. The bathroom was a good size, with a bath as well as a separate shower. A hair dryer, iron and ironing board are supplied. The fridge contained a selection of wines, beers and non-alcoholic drinks, all reasonably priced. Tea and coffee making facilities were also in the room. We found the staff friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the restaurant's Maitre d'. We ate only breakfasts in the restaurant, where there was a wide selection of continental or cooked foods. The house keeping service was very good, but there is no turn-down service in the evenings, which doesn't worry us. Our bags were quickly stored when we arrived before the check-in time, and when we checked out. Taxis were always standing in the hotel driveway, and the airport is an easy 20 minutes away along the waterfront. We will stay here again, especially because we love watching the ships berthing, the dragon boats and rowing skiffs practising, and yachts and launches coming and going from the nearby marina.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors would have the best harbour views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadarnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Cadarnle,
I appreciate you taking the time to write your review, and was delighted to read that your experience here was a pleasant one and that you enjoyed our prime location, the service of our staff, and the decor and set up of your room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews