We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in the hotel over a weekend.

It is well located being close to all of the attractions that Wellington has to offer.

The hotel rooms have been recently refurbished and have a fresh modern look. The bed was very comfortable!The bathrooms do not appear to have been refurbished and look a bit dated but that is not a major issue.

The bar area was busy on the nights we stayed and they could have done with more staff behind the bar who knew how to make the sort of drinks we order. The service was a bit slow. However, this is a business hotel and not a resort so not really an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandA6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi MandA6468,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you especially enjoyed the rooms and the location of the hotel. I have passed on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager is regards to the bar and will make sure that this is rectified. Thank you for taking the time to place a review on the hotel and your stay, we do appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    515
    173
    43
    38
See reviews for
110
528
63
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahipara, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Funny reading other peoples reviews, I could not match their experiences to the Hotel. In comparison with other Hotels I have stayed in, and I stay in alot, this was great! It was a surprise Wotif Deal so we may have payed less than the normal, but for us it was great value for money. The lobby was nice, the parking was convenient, the staff helpful.. The room was modern, large and the bed was comfy, infact I wanted to stay another night. Convenience to everywhere was ideal. I loved my room and I am fussy so..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSafarisTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi Sara K,

Thank you for your review and your opinions. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotels facilities and location, making it an enjoyable experience for yourself. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Amora in Wellington NZ in late September,room had been refurbished and looked good, could not say that about air conditioning which sounded like a tractor, overall too expensive for what was offered

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Napier1,

Thank you for your review of your stay in September. We are in the process of upgrading our air conditioning which will hopefully add to the guest experience and make your next stay much more enjoyable. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is well located, just opposite the bational museum and close the the main shopping street and Cuba Street (lots of bars and restaurants). Lacking in character in a business hotel sort of way, but beds are comfortable, rooms clean and bathrooms adequate. Reasonably good value, as deals are available online.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGreenFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi TheGreenFrog,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay within the hotel and made good use of its location. I hope to welcome you back next time you are stopping by in Wellington.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The best thing is the location - Te Papa was about 2 minutes walk across the road, TSB Arena about 5, Courtenay Place, Cuba St etc all a short walk away. Plenty of cafes and really cool cocktail bars nearby. We had a great view of the harbour from our room which was recently refurbished and just lovely. The windows are not double glazed so there was a bit of revellry noise on the Saturday night but we were on the 7th floor and it didnt keep me awake despite being a light sleeper. The bed was firm and very comfortable and the bathroom nicely laid out. The only flaw we found was our request for the paper to be delivered each morning didnt happen but that was a minor issue. The breakfast in The Grill was part of the package deal we had and it was very good. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Cat R,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the package inclusions that you booked. I am very sorry that you never received your requested newspapers; I have passed this onto our Front Office team to follow up to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I do like the Amora Hotel in Wellington. Location is good and priced about avaerage for corporate accomodations. The things I don't like is the fact that the place is skimping on some basics eg no bottled water, no newspaper unless you request it specially, and theres more no shuttle services, not even a pair of slippers.
I know its not much but a bottle of water per guest, per day should be a standard and has been to most mid priced hotels.
The good points are the friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: dont go 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konrad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Hi Konrad J,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I really appreciate you taking the time to give feedback on how the hotel is perceived by our valuable guests. We are currently looking into our amenities and value the comments you have placed in your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of the hote. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Firstly the location is ideal, right in the hub of Wellington. Nice friendly check-in but the room key issued to me did not work so I went back down to reception and was given a new one and this also didn't open the door. 3rd time lucky and we finally got settled. We were also not asked if we would like a hand with our luggage so we did our own. The rooms are ok but the bathrooms are in need of an upgrade and some TLC. A number of Cracked tiles, old fashioned taps and fittings, shower was temperamental. All staff we encountered were helpful and obliging so to sum it up Amora has the location and staff but the rooms are in need of some tender loving care. I also gave up on the wireless as you had to go down to reception and get a code which was inconvenient so this could be simplified or provided free of charge as a guest delight?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi vacation472,

Thank you for your comments and feedback from your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our staff. I have taken your comments onboard and am looking into improving the guest experience in these areas.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Property: Amora Hotel Wellington
Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing