We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location hostel but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good location hostel but some issues”
Reviewed December 29, 2008

This is a hostel in downtown wellington.
The best thing about is and why we stayed there was the location.
It is immediately outside the railway station which is how we arrived so had no distance to travel. The station also has a free shuttle to the interisland ferry which is how we left and so saved a taxi ride.
The place was ok but a bit old and run down. We had a two bunk family room with an onsuite bathroom. The latch on our window was broken and flakey. There was some noise as our room was just opposite a lift but it wasnt terrible.
There is a big public room with a cafe counter, a tv room and a big communal kitchen. The cafe did breakfast which you had to book the night before and was extra but ok. There was paid internet in the public room but no wireless.
We stayed here for one night because we were passing through and had to make an early ferry the next morning. It was fine for that but I wouldnt particularly recommend a longer stay/

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kindnessofstrangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    157
    124
    50
    17
See reviews for
36
111
140
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We booked a room with single bunks with an en-suite but found the room to be very old and run-down.Clearly it has very little maintenance been done especially in the bathroom and felt embarrased as a New Zealander if overseas tourists stayed here and thought this was the norm for backpackers accommodation.The kitchen was adequate and it has a good cafeteria.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank picton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 12, 2004

I booked a double, got a bunk bed (with the lower deck being a barely queen bed) private room in return. Bathroom is to share with the room next door (it actually locates between 2 rooms with private access to both rooms).

The hostel is a bit run down but it's alright as long as it is cheap and close to city centre (around 5-10mins walk).

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 4, 2004

cheap but.......

They didn't tell me I was in a mixed dorm. I only found out when I woke up the next morning to find all my room mates were men.. So I din't hang around very long.

Dorm room had an en-suite which was a positive..

Not good in general though!! Would pay the extra and stay at the Cambridge.

The Cafe was great though, quite inexpensive and they have separate kitchens for backpackers to use.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 30, 2003

There was a group of 10 that went down to Wellington and there were only 8 beds, we didn't stay there we ended up staying at the Cambridge Hotel which was nice and clean anyway, maybe next time there will be more beds

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,852 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#4 of 53 in Wellington
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Property: Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Address: 1 Bunny St | PO Box 3071, Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Downtown Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing