We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

2nd time here.

For a backpackers, this is such a super place.
Huge kitchen, always clean-& plenty of room.

Meals in cafe were great.
Great value for money.
Had fish & chips with salad- crispy.
Also had pot roast- 2 thick slices of roast pork which was tender & yummy roast veg.

Recommend definitely to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia_vdBrelie, Manager at Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Downtown.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Hope you will stay with us again in the future!
Kind regards, Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    155
    123
    49
    16
See reviews for
36
110
136
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed one night - dorm room was pretty standard/basic, had an ensuite which was good, the wind was HOWLING through the windows which was a bit freaky but apart from that, good! Appreciated the cafe for a really yummy & good value dinner and glass of wine. Pretty cool building and great location for catching the ferry early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellarustybelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

All the good qualities of this place are overshadowed by how stingy these guys are with things that are usually complimentary in a hostel, namely: the internet.. They charge $1 per every 10 MBs of wireless you use....10 MBs of internet will last you all of 15 mins (to check e-mail and FB). Don't have your own computer? The communal ones will cost you $5/hr. Wellington does have free city wifi, but the concrete walls of DBH is really good at blocking out that signal completely.

The tattered key card to my room required a $20 cash deposit (more if you put that deposit on your credit card due to service fees).

Want to borrow a hair dryer? That'll be a $50 deposit!! Ridiculous.

Plan on taking a shower? Bring a towel because they don't provide any. (I'm sure they do for an extra fee)

Want to do a load of wash? That'll cost $4. Hope you don't need a dryer because that'll cost $6.

The absurd deposits and extra charges aside, this isn't a bad place. Although not quite in the center of town, is the perfect location if you're arriving by train, bus or ferry. It's also got an AMAZING guest kitchen and a nice commons area (big, lots of seating - not enough power outlets). The restaurant food looked good (never tried it, I was forced to cook my own meals since I spent all my extra cash on the internet here).

Stayed in a 6-bed dorm which was really small but clean (cleaned daily by housekeeping) with a newly renovated bathroom.

I wish I could have given this place a "very good" rating, but the hidden costs of staying here really bring it down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

You can't miss with the Downtown Backpackers. They are friendly and reliable and there's a good range of accommodation options for travellers on a budget. Great location and easy to find and get back to at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia_vdBrelie, Manager at Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi there, and thank you for the great feedback. The team does work hard to make sure Downtown is as best as it can be for our guests. It’s great to hear we are getting things right.
Thanks again, Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Central Wellington on a budget - very handy for ferry and station, easy stroll to central shopping area and airport bus. Loved the olde-worlde lifts. Room basic but warm, amenities basic but supplied, clean. Very good service from reception, which can help you with activity bookings. They were happy to supply directions, and a map. Noisy bar but the noise didn't travel to my room just one floor up. Cafe basic and large, but a big fire, good coffee, prompt service and much better than walking out into the storm! Pay for a password to wifi, $2 for 20mb. Locker if you need to leave your bags the day you leave or arrive. There's no associated parking, but at this price and location in the city's capital, I wouldn't expect it.
Will stay again and would recommend for anyone on a budget seeking a warm and friendly place near to the centre and public transport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquimNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia_vdBrelie, Manager at Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi there, Thank you for your review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you will stay with us again in the future! Kind regards, Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Used this conveniently situated hostel for an overnight stay before catching ferry to South Island. Basic but clean and staff friendly. Bar was well attended and food available. Parking a problem but we were lucky in having vacant spot. Very handy for the ferry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdjulesdt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hostel is located very centralny, just opposite the train station and withing walking distance to all major attractions. If you travel by car, you will have to find a public parking space, which may be an issue in this really central location.
The interior is a bit gloomy and the room I stayed in was very basic and small.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 47 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#9 of 47 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Property: Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Address: 1 Bunny St | PO Box 3071, Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Downtown Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing