We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy, uncomfortable beds”
Review of Trek Global

Trek Global
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trek Global
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Noisy, uncomfortable beds”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Trek Global is well located and it's cheap but it's definitely not the place to go if you need to get a good night's sleep... People are noisy and the beds are really uncomfortable.
The kitchen could use more sponges and tea towels as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolande S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. As we are a busy hostel the beds undergo a lot of use, however we are currently in the process of replacing the mattress's throughout the property. Kind regards, The Trek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    79
    51
    33
    15
See reviews for
13
41
106
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed at Trek while I was waiting for my flat tenancy to start so really liked the fact that there were a lot of people staying long term, it made it really easy to meet people. The price was extremely reasonable for the location, rooms, cleanliness, social aspects etc but the best thing about Trek is it's reception staff. Every single one of them has a smile and is willing to go the extra mile. Denise and Alex were especially excellent, sorting out a couple of minor issues with care and efficiency. And the security staff - awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MieshaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi there, thanks so much for your review! The team are absolutely delighted to hear your comments and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Wellington! Many thanks, The Trek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed in Trek for nearly 12 weeks as I was on a working holiday visa in NZ and got a hospo job in the city.
The hostel is spacious and extremely clean. Housekeeping is vigorous and carried out 3 times a day.
The front of desk staff are helpful and approachable. They'll offer help and local knowledge on the city and I found them really easy to deal with.
I felt safe during my stay. There are lockers in the bedrooms and a security guard patrols at night.
The hostel is fun with a good lounge area for mingling but after 11pm, drinking is finished. This was great if you had work the next morning and weren't interested in hearing revelries go on for the night.
The place is divided into sections by colours and I stayed in Orange for the duration. Here, I got a chance to meet with loads of fellow backpackers and workers and the shared kitchen space made it easy to socialize but also easy to sneak away if you wanted to be alone.
The bunks are sturdy, housekeeping will give you extra blankets or pillows - if you just ask nicely!
The bathrooms are clean.
They run some group events in the hostel though work clashed with these so I didn't get to do any of them.
Location wise - city centre, just beside the Metro New World, beside restaurants, clothes shops, chemists, 2 dollar shops, post office, bus station and close to all major attractions. Wellington is very compact.
If you plan on staying in Wellington for a bit longer and don't want the craziness of a Base or Nomads place but still want to meet people and have fun - stay in Trek.
The amount of people who are there for long visits are testament to the quality of the accommodation and its value for money.

Room Tip: You pay a little bit more for the Orange section but get good space in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizreaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in Wellington. Your comments have been passed onto the team who were thrilled to hear them. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand! Kind regards, Team management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hostel is very big, and has different sectors which are indicated by different colors. We stayed at two rooms on the purple and blue area. One of them was just perfect and the other one was very basic and both for the same price, also the environment changes a lot on each different sector as the each has an individual kitchen so people that you meet are different on each area.

The kitchen is a mess most of the times, and there is people that cleans, but they don't until around 10am, so if you wake up early its a nightmare to cook breakfast. I would say that kitchens are not very well provided with kitchen stuff... no peelers, not enough space, and like every BBH you have to deal with that stup*d rule that makes them shut down the kitchen all night until 6:30.

The bathrooms are amazing, as they are huge and they have everything that you need.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get something at the purple area, the view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review!
Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are currently restructuring the schedule of cleaning the kitchens, with 5 communal kitchens to clean three times a day unfortunately the schedule can fall behind occasionally so we are looking at ways to prevent this. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand and come back and stay if you're passing through Wellington again. Kind regards, Trek Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have checked some of Wellington's hostels and none of those offered better quality in similar price. To be fair that is one of the cheapest options you can get and still better room/space/cleanliness wise. the location is just great - a very city centre just 5 mins from cuba street, 2 mins from "metro" new world. not bad view if you're lucky. nice staff, and who i mean are -woffers(!!! those guys really give off good vibes and do a good job), reception or security guys who EVERY evening struggle calming ppl down cs after 11pm "if you want to socialize, you have to go downstairs"; and that is a VERY RULE.
however i would prefer at least microwaves to be avaible in the night time, as everything is switched off till morning.
there's a nice lounge, tv room and kitchen for each "color" which are the floor zones.
You can stay here also as a long-term guest, which isn't possible in all the places.
OK, so other words i do recommand it. spent a month here and may stay longer. My special greetings to Leandro, George, Sarah, Mia and others housekeepers from blue;)

Room Tip: ask for "lux" or priv room if you're more than 2 ppl. that will be cheaper option than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi there,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and your comments regarding our housekeeping team who do a great job! Thanks again, Trek Global
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, wanted to stay for 3 but when we arrived they were fully booked. We stayed on the 2nd floor, the kitchen and toilets here were both nice and clean. They arranged for a pub quiz one night which was very fun. The staff were also very friendly and the location is perfect. The only downfalls were the pool table is not very good at all, and the top bunk was extremely noisy! Would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the quiz night! Please come back and stay again if you're in Wellington, Many thanks, The Trek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Liked: near to tourist area (te papa, etc.), friendly staff, free tea and coffee
Disliked: cheep beds (when the guy sleeping under you in the bunk moves, it seems like an earthquake), no free spices in kitchen, lots of long term stayers who put their stuff literately everywhere, so it's dirty and messy, and wifi is expensive

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank singGS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review, sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. The housekeeping team work hard to ensure the hostel is kept as clean & tidy as possible so I'm disappointed to hear you didn't experience this. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time around New Zealand! Kind regards, The Trek Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trek Global? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trek Global

Property: Trek Global
Address: 9 O'Reily Avenue, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trek Global 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trek Global is the fresh, fun, and friendly backpackers in central Wellington. Close to everything, we've got all your backpacking needs covered as well as some great extras and freebies to tantalise your time in the Capital! Join in on the free in-house activities which take place once or twice a week or chillax and make yourself at home with our range of facilities on offer, outside BBQ area, exclusive girls only floor, games and pool table, Global Gossip WIFI access in all the rooms (extra charges apply), parking facilities (extra charges apply) or why not hire one of our top range bikes. Our Trek reception team are on hand to give you the entire lowdown on local knowledge around the city. We can book your Wellington activities as well as help plan the rest of your journey around New Zealand. With rooms and packages to suit all budget types from a basic bed in a 6 dorm, to twin & double rooms, right through to a family sized suite with Sky TV and some comfy beanbags! So whether you're flying solo or backpacking with friends, we guarantee no matter what you're looking for in a backpackers you'll find it at Trek Global! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trek Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing