We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodated a special needs group brilliantly!”
Review of Trek Global

Trek Global
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trek Global
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Accommodated a special needs group brilliantly!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Trek Global were fantastic and very welcoming of our special needs school group. Trek helped us out with lots of little things (storing our bags securely, etc.) and when one of the students decided to post his bank card into the heater in his room (!) the staff were very helpful and got the card back to him without any issue!
We would love to stay there again if we get the chance to get to Wellington again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherT243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane S, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hi there, thank you for your review. It was great having your group stay and I have passed yuor comments onto the rest of the team who were delighted to hear them! Please thank the rest of the group for the Christmas card we received this morning, it was lovely! Hope to see you again soon, many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    80
    52
    33
    15
See reviews for
13
42
109
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great stay, rooms clean, bunks comfy, bathrooms nice and clean and there are heaps of kitchens. Lounge is great, tv and small library. Staff work hard and are very knowledgeable about the city. Occasional planned events are sweet too, movie nights, BBQ etc.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tumblingnebulae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, and it was the worst experience ever - and that's saying something, I've travelled around many hostels around the world!
I arrived with a friend, booking a two bed share room hoping for a nice quiet stay. We were put into a ground floor room, right next to a bathroom and our door opened straight into the kitchen/lounge/common area! needless to say, it was extremely noisy and 4 hours disturbed sleep. We complained the next morning, the reception lady moved us up a floor - slightly "quieter" room, but still right in front of another kitchen/common room. It was another two nights of noise, which only quitened down after 2am. Plus we came back "early" (before midnight) to find the place crawling with cops! Long waits for the bathroom each day. No mirrors in the rooms which meant people used the bathrooms for much longer.
Overall, it was noisy, dirty, stunk like rubbish and smelly socks everywhere and the walls are paper thin.

Room Tip: If you book twin share, ask for one NOT near the kitchens or common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natedizzle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very clean and cozy, friendly staff which will always help and explain everything you need. The only disadvantage - paid and quite expensive WIFI.
Hostel has quite nice mini pool downstairs and really big, great kitchens in every wing. Bathrooms are clean and nice. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktorija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

the hostel was quite friendly fairly clean there was a role bout alcohol in rooms but reception wood over look u if you was quiet and looked like u'll behave i share with a student li8ving there while there halls was being fix friend place stayed for 4 days was luck as room is for 5 , there was only us two ideal for short stays

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here twice in October for 1 night whilst travelling around New zealand. The rooms are split into wings. They are a little small as are the bathrooms & the common areas are somewhat cluttered. The hostel is however clean & is ideal for an overnight stay if necessary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank united01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

was what I was looking for when i booked a stay at Trek Global for my students. We had an entire wing (orange) to ourselves and this gave me peace of mind for the saftey of my group. Our wing had an electronic access card so only we could enter it.
We stayed four nights, the staff were helpful and friendly, initial contact and organisation was extremely effiecient, especially with key distribution, 34 of us in total.
Great central location, clean rooms, good range of cuttlery, cups, glasses, pots etc. Only lacked mirrors for the girls (we had 28 in our group).
The rooms were spacious and had great storage for personal effects and were light and sunny.
Would highly recommend to other groups.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 53 in Wellington
580 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#4 of 53 in Wellington
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trek Global? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trek Global

Property: Trek Global
Address: 9 O'Reily Avenue, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trek Global 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trek Global is the fresh, fun, and friendly backpackers in central Wellington. Close to everything, we've got all your backpacking needs covered as well as some great extras and freebies to tantalise your time in the Capital! Join in on the free in-house activities which take place once or twice a week or chillax and make yourself at home with our range of facilities on offer, outside BBQ area, exclusive girls only floor, games and pool table, Global Gossip WIFI access in all the rooms (extra charges apply), parking facilities (extra charges apply) or why not hire one of our top range bikes. Our Trek reception team are on hand to give you the entire lowdown on local knowledge around the city. We can book your Wellington activities as well as help plan the rest of your journey around New Zealand. With rooms and packages to suit all budget types from a basic bed in a 6 dorm, to twin & double rooms, right through to a family sized suite with Sky TV and some comfy beanbags! So whether you're flying solo or backpacking with friends, we guarantee no matter what you're looking for in a backpackers you'll find it at Trek Global! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trek Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing