We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive zoo, difficult to see animals on viewing platforms”
Review of Wellington Zoo

Wellington Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.68*
and up
Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour
Ranked #7 of 236 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit us today and discover why Wellington Zoo is gaining a reputation for being the best little zoo in the whole wide world!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Im aware that wellington zoo has limited space but the way they have designed the enclosures makes it very difficult to see the animals easily. there is atleast two enclosures under construction so im hopping they are attempting to fix this problem. as far as zoos go this one does not have the variety i desire.

Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonZoo, Public Relations Manager at Wellington Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Hi Megan, i'm sorry you were disappointed in your visit. One of the best ways to make sure you see as many animals as possible is to follow our daily schedule of talks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
There are newer reviews for Wellington Zoo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 897 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a fantastic little zoo. We were pleasantly surprised by Wellington Zoo. The weather was not great - there are shelters along the way to avoid the rain and still see the animals. We saw every animal, they were all visible in their enclosures and many including the wonderful Sunbear and monkeys put on a great show. The staff were friendly, there were not too many other visitors allowing us to take our time. Definately will return.

Thank Gerwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonZoo, Public Relations Manager at Wellington Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thanks! I'm really glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were practically alone in this fantastic little zoo, having visited during a weekday during the school term. The informative animal tals are throughout the day and are a great way to experience the animals.

Thank bovvertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonZoo, Public Relations Manager at Wellington Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi there - i'm happy to hear your enjoyed you visit despite the rain! It can be fantastic on days like that here. Thanks for taking the time to review your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A very small zoo by comparison (Cincinnati, San Diego), and oddly, still had chain-link fence keeping in the animals (versus more modern zoos having large, non-fenced enclosures). The hook was that you can pay extra and have a "Close Encounter" with cheetahs, meerkats, lions, or a giraffe! So we paid extra and got to spend half an hour petting the zoo's two cheetahs Charlie and Delta. Outside of Africa, I don't know where else I could pet a cheetah.

Thank Sunil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonZoo, Public Relations Manager at Wellington Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! I am so glad you got to meet Delta and Charlie - it really is a once in a life time experience. I hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Not the biggest zoo we've ever visited; but, it offers a wonderful family friendly day out. The Red Panda exhibit is especially cool if they are out and active. For those looking to spend a day out, this zoo offers plenty of interesting demonstrations and "animal talks," most of which are included in the price of admission.

The downsides to this otherwise lovely zoo are that it is a tad on the expensive side if you're not a member. Also, be aware that some of the walks in the zoo can be rather steep; especially if you're pushing a stroller or carrying a small child.

That said, it really was a wonderful day out.

1  Thank Thorin-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonZoo, Public Relations Manager at Wellington Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi Thorin,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our Zoo! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Some of our hills can be a bit steep and while we've done what we can to mitigate that our hilly site can make it a bit challenging.

I hope we see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellington Zoo also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Wellington Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing