We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wellington Zoo

Wellington Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.40*
and up
Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour
Ranked #7 of 230 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit us today and discover why Wellington Zoo is gaining a reputation for being the best little zoo in the whole wide world!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

very well done, looks very good service is great, cant wait for the asia part. it was an enjoyable trip. cant wait to go again

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonZoo, Public Relations Manager at Wellington Zoo, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Ben - thanks for the lovely review! Our new Asia Precinct is now open, so hopefully you get the chance to come and check it out :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    334
    100
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Giraffes. Vehicle thaat you can climb on.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The highlights are the giraffe enclosure and the land-rover that children can climb on. I like the Chimps' enclosure (more an island than an enclosure). A good walk. Take a jacket in case of a chilly wind.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ayeaye2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonZoo, Public Relations Manager at Wellington Zoo, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi there - thanks very much for your lovely comments. The jeep is a very popular attraction at the Zoo it seems! As part of our new Asia Precinct we now have an amazing TukTuk from Cambodia which is proving equally popular - I hope you can come and check it out some time this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wellington Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Loved this place. Visited with our family of young adults who live in Wellington - some who have been numerous times. Amazing place to get up close and personal with the animals. Well set out with plenty of places to stop and have a break or a snack and lots of opportunities to see the animals feeding etc.
Would highly recommend. Can't wait to see the new area when we visit again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrissygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonZoo, Public Relations Manager at Wellington Zoo, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Chrissy - thanks for your review, i'm glad that you and your friends had a nice visit. Our new Asia Precinct is now open, so hopefully you get a chance to check it out soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Nice day out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Spent few hours at the Zoo on Saturday. Worth a visit espically for kids. Best to go to to the talks as some animals are asleep or in hiding. Chimpanzees are my favourite :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
339 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Small zoo, nice day out with family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you are in Wellington during August don't miss out on the $5 entry every Wednesday. Been to better zoos, however it is always a great day out for the kids.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fnqfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellington Zoo also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Wellington Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing