We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free, interesting and hassle free”

Parliament Buildings
Book In Advance
More Info
$205.59*
and up
Full-Day Wellington Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$41.12*
and up
Wellington City Sights and Coast Tour
More Info
$130.83*
and up
Wellington City Sightseeing Small-Group Tour
Ranked #13 of 236 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free, one-hour guided tours of Parliament operate every day on the hour. Take a tour with one of our trained guides to visit key parts of Parliament's buildings and learn about our parliamentary processes, and have an insight in to New Zealand's history and culture. Tours operate seven days a week with the first tour at 10am, last tour 4pm. We recommend you arrive least 15 minutes before the tour departs as tour group sizes are limited and so you have time to check in your belongings. Everyone must leave their bags, coats, phones, cameras and other electronic devices in secure storage at the Visitor Centre in the Beehive. Individuals do not need to book. Groups of 10 or more are required to book their tour in advance. Specialist tours are avaiable on request but must be booked in advance.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Free, interesting and hassle free”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Couldn't believe it. We turned up at 3.30pm and were able to go on a tour at 4pm. We got to see the debating hall, the main hall in the beehive and underground where they have the base isolation work. I really recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    517
    132
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We joined a conducted tour that lasted Andy hour. It was not during a Parliament session time so we were able to see the MP chamber. We also saw the earthquake protection system in the foundations.
We were both pleased that we decided to do the visit, would recommend to anyone visiting Wellington.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Democracy in action”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Been to a few government buildings including the Mother but I have to say the way in which the tour was conducted, the evident pride in the NZ way (Westminster with a serious twist) almost had me applying for citizenship on the spot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HumanTraffic0863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Arrived at 10am to find the one hour tour full. The receptionist said they were putting on an half hour highlights tour at 10.30am. We visited the main areas only, taking in the basement earthquake improvements, the main parliament chamber where all the members of parliament sit. The guide showed us the room where the queen sits at the opening of parliament and the members lobby's. Although the tour was only half an hour the guide gave a very good overview of the parliament functions. Worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank daddymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an hour or two”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Whether you're a political fan or not it's interesting place to visit. The buildings are stunning inside and out and to be able to walk onto the floor of parliament is a unique experience.

We've got a much better understanding of NZ political process than before, glad we did it.

Helpful?
Thank Stormboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parliament Buildings also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Parliament Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing