We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a mix”

Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.06*
and up
Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Guided Tour
More Info
$15.07*
and up
Maori Highlights Tour
More Info
$90.43*
and up
Scenic Wellington Helicopter Flight
Ranked #1 of 235 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Experience the whole of New Zealand in one building! Te Papa is New Zealand's bold, innovative and interactive national museum. Explore the great treasures and stories of this country, its unique natural environment, Maori culture and taonga (treasures), dynamic art heritage, and its fascinating history. Te Papa is located on Wellington's spectacular waterfront. Open 10am to 6pm every day except Christmas Day. General admission is free.
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Quite a mix”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

A swirling mix of indigenous art, war history, fashion, classical paintings, music, etc. Almost seems to be struggling for an identity, but it makes for a varied and interesting experience. A really great gift shop, one of the best places in Wellington to shop for art and jewelry.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,721
    1,926
    371
    50
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Museum”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is an amazing museum which manages to portray the history of New Zealand in a very informative and modern way. A must on a visit to Wellington.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gbg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, so much to see”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We ended up spending about 3/4 hours in here which was much more than we had anticipated and we’d only seen about half of it! Definitely worth going to if you’re in Wellington for a while and there are so many sections to it that something is bound to interest everyone. We also went on the two rides that are on the bottom floor which are worth a look, particularly if you had kids.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Two hour is not enough!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I only had a couple hours to spend in this museum because I already booked another tour in the afternoon and it was not enough to explore all interesting parts of the museum. It's a big museum with various themes from geology to history to Maori culture and the layout was excellent. If we want to enjoy them all we need at least three hours here. There is no entrance fee to the museum but to see the temporary exhibitions from China we only have to pay $10.
This museum is a must see!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike66jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interactive”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We didn't have much time so couldn't see it all. What we did see was interesting, interactive and well thought through. The children had much fun pressing buttons, watching screens and learning in a fun environment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tans3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa) also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing