We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a child's view”

Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.96*
and up
Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Guided Tour
More Info
$14.95*
and up
Maori Highlights Tour
More Info
$89.71*
and up
Scenic Wellington Helicopter Flight
Ranked #1 of 236 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Experience the whole of New Zealand in one building! Te Papa is New Zealand's bold, innovative and interactive national museum. Explore the great treasures and stories of this country, its unique natural environment, Maori culture and taonga (treasures), dynamic art heritage, and its fascinating history. Te Papa is located on Wellington's spectacular waterfront. Open 10am to 6pm every day except Christmas Day. General admission is free.
Whakatane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“a child's view”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

travelling with a 12 year old, thus went to the sections aimed at kids. She thoroughly enjoyed the (satellite images) map of new zealand that lit up when you walked on it - along with loads of other kids and adults.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_in_Whakatane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,834
    1,950
    374
    50
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A national treasure”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Te Papa is truly world class. It is a modern, child friendly museum that educates and entertains. Exhibits are changed regularly, and focuses on matters significant to New Zealand. Our kids (aged 13 & 12) LOVE going to Te Papa.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jscindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawkes bay
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“unique engaging informative fun”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Such a bold move for museum to make! All the crusty dust covered exhibits have been archived and stored and the best picked out, dusted off, displayed in an exciting and engaging fashion with interactive information panels and large descriptive well designed info boards. The building is like a huge emerging submarine rising up out of the wharf, and the inside is just one big adventure! A great way to inform and educate and entertain people with essential knowledge. Thanks Te Papa! I visit every opportunity I get! AND THANK YOU FOR BEING FREE ENTRY O for Awesome!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank frog8t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"A little disappointing"”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Although we spent four hours at Te Papa and the building was impressive, we found the Auckland War Memorial Museum to be a much better introduction to Maori culture and New Zealand life. For us, Te Papa had too much written information and not enough artifacts. The signage was difficult to read, and it wasn't always clear which way to go in an exhibit. We did enjoy seeing the colossal squid, and the exhibit about the history of the land. We had a yummy slice of blueberry, persimmon & walnut tart with Earl Grey tea in the cafe when we got tired halfway through the afternoon... very pleasant. Also, great free wifi in the museum! If Trip Advisor let you do 3 1/2 stars, that's what we would have given Te Papa.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Most extraordinary museum we experienced in NZ or AU”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I had been told by friends that if we saw nothing else while visiting Wellington, DO NOT MISS Te Papa Museum. We were on a 28 day cruise with a 10 hour stop in Wellington. I went on line and found the museum had a 2 hour private tour for up to 8 people. Cost was $160.00 NZ dollars. We reserved the tour and when we arrived at the museum found we were the only participants which was fine with us and we were okay paying the full fee. They insisted on prorating the tour charging us only $40.00. Very gracious of them. Our tour guide was a young woman with an art history degree and a personal knowledge and affinity for the Maori culture and the significant treasures on display in the museum. Without her introduction and guidance to the areas of the museum, we would not have had the in depth experience we enjoyed. The architecture of the building is in itself dynamic. From the entrance boulders reflecting Mother Earth and NZ's indigenous people to the elaborate " waharoa" gateways serving as thresholds to the country's natural and cultural heritage, the innovative design of the museum draws you in to the nation's bicultural heritage. In the Taonga Maori Collection are more than 30,00 cultural treasures. Our guide was able to explain the significance of many of these " taongas" to the Maori people. And after reading many guide books about NZ and The Maori, we finally felt we had an understanding and appreciation for this people and their connection to the land, the sea, the heavens and each other. A fascinating people. Just seeing the beautifully carved "marae" or meeting places and understanding their significance to the Maori or the reconstructed " wake" (canoe) gave you a new appreciation for NZ and its history. But there are many other areas of the museum like Awesome Forces exploring how the land was formed, suspended whale skeletons, a preserved giant squid, interactive computerized learning centers and play areas for children. There is something to fascinate every age group. And many high tech interactive exhibits that we skipped but would have enjoyed if we had had our grand kids with us to explain the technology!! The museum uses every modern technique to bring their exhibits to life. We continually said to each other how we wished we had our grandchildren with us. They would have especially enjoyed the sea life exhibit with the preserved giant squid! The museum is free with a small charge for temporary exhibits. There are elevators but if you are mobile do not miss taking the stairs and looking out to the harbor and into the city. The cafeteria style restaurant is quite good and reasonably priced. we had breakfast and lunch there. Wonderful museum shop. The museum continues outside with their verdant Bush City with over 1400 plants that naturally thrive in the rain forests, wetlands and mountains around Wellington. I think my husband sums up our experience by telling people that if you see nothing else of cultural significance while in NZ......you must visit Te Papa!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMac28046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa) also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing