We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A world class museum in quality if not size” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Museum

Wellington Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$276.80*
and up
Small-Group Seal Colony and Wellington City Tour
Ranked #10 of 229 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Wellington Museum is housed in the Bond Store, an 1892 heritage building designed by leading architect Frederick de Jersey Clere. Set over four floors, the exhibitions tell the myriad stories of our city and region. Wellington Museum's newest permanent exhibition, The Attic, opened in late 2015. Set in the newly open to the public fourth floor, The Attic features some of the curious and quirky tales from our past. From lions to artwork, steam engines to UFO sighting flies, Vampires and a time machine (Nga Hau), the Museum shares our fascinating stories.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,923 reviews
1,795 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,801 helpful votes
“A world class museum in quality if not size”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Wellington people are so lucky with their museums - Te Papa is absolutely amazing and one of the best in the world but this museum, although of a different scale, is quite wonderful. What I like about Wellington's museum is how they integrate the social and cultural side of their history as well as inanimate objects.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    355
    52
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“MWCS: A little museum with a big package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Museum of Wellington City & Sea (MWCS) is a gem of a sleeper - as museums go. It is not well known outside of New Zealand (maybe not that well-known outside of the capital!). When people think of Wellington & museums, they think naturally of Te Papa, one of the outstanding museums internationally. MWCS is obviously not on the scale of Te Papa & does not pretend to be, but I just thought it had so much character (the setting & location: the old refurbished 1890s bond store right on Queens Wharf on the Wellington waterfront, the maritime imagery), & given its size, it packs a lot of interest in it. From the entrance you come straight into a recreated turn-of-the century cargo warehouse. I thought the ambience of the bond store theme was very apt, & very appealing! The various exhibits give a keen insight in aspects of life for the 1900s Wellingtonians. And, of course, the maritime theme is ever present, historical photos & films of famous shipwrecks, the Wahine, the Pamir, (a 4.5 metre model of the barque Pamir is on display). I really liked the Captain's Cabin & thought that the preserved Number 1 Committee Room of the Port Authority was fascinating. The Museum reveals lots of interesting little-known stories, eg, Plimmer's Ark, the 1913 wharfies' strike. There is also a section on Maori creation legends. Stacks of history, great ambience!!! And, there is one or two items that you might not expect to find in a museum of this type (photos).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Funambulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Value for money cannot be beaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Took a group of 15 out of town visitors. Had our own tour guide who was excellent. They didn't get to see everything and will be ging back for more and advising others to visit.
We always take our visitors there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
592 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“A truly worldly museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a delight! In the beautifully restored Bond House, an attractive structure in its own right, each room is carefully thought out with some of the nicest museum displays we've seen on several continents! there's a cool 'holligram'-driven program on the island's ancestral heritage as well as several large screen offerings (a nice chance to sit and rest your feet). My husband liked it so well he had no problem seeing it a second time in 3 days, this time WITH me. I particularly enjoyed the 'time line' with 'story box' items just below each decade's high points. That all this is available for free makes this even more of a 'gift' to those visiting Wellington!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a great hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this museum lots to keep the kids busy hands involved too! Very informative, well presented and even a great kids foreshore scavenger hunt to complete once we left.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellington Museum also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Wellington Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing