We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience ZEALANDIA Sanctuary
from $49.00
More Info
from $59.50
More Info
from $38.50
More Info
Reviews (2,226)
Filter reviews
2,117 results
Traveler rating
1,453
504
107
36
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,453
504
107
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night tour native birds bird life free shuttle rare birds jurassic park glow worms bird calls bird song new zealand guided walk suspension bridge nz wildlife their natural habitat the reserve cable car entry fee
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,117 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Go up the cable car to the Botanic Gardens in Wellington NZ, for a great view. Then catch the free shuttle bus to Zealandia. Join a tour group or walk through the sanctuary yourself (we did the latter) - it is well sign-posted and you can take as long as you like.
The founders of this magnificent sanctuary have built a vermin-proof fence all around to keep out the weasels, stoats, possums and rats, etc. If any do get through, there are plenty of baited traps to catch them.

You will be rewarded with feeling like you are in the NZ of 500 years ago, before man caused catastrophic damage to the birds and native fauna, by introducing foreign predators, which still destroy up to 65,000 birds PER DAY. You will mainly see and hear dozens of native NZ birds, flying, nesting and eating at feed stations. They include the Tui, Kaka, Saddleback, and many more. There is a lovely stream running between the two main paths, a suspension bridge and a dam. You can also enjoy good food and drinks at the café and also see informational videos, etc.

Thank DavidJP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place to visit to hear and see the birds and the bush. It is very easy to get to from town. The walking tracks are well maintained and there is something for everyone - bush tracks and a wide sealed flat path. The cafe is a nice place to stop and have something to eat and drink. The cost is reasonable and there is plenty of information on display. You can learn lots or just the the opportunity to relax and enjoy the bush and the wildlife.

Thank JF3721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is another great place to go and the whole family can enjoy it. The area of 1 square mile is totally fenced off to keep pests like rats, cats and stoats out. The site is as pest free as possible to help ensure that birds can breed safely. There are numerous paths that you can walk and get a lot of information about the sanctuary wildlife. At the information centre there is a great deal of information as well and a very good cafe. A great day out!

Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Night tour was great, helped by excellent weather and a knowledgeable guide. Just keep in mind the place closes at 5 so between then and your night tour time, there’s nothing to do and nowhere to wait really. Your ticket is good for daytime entry before or up to a week after, they said. Tour was well organized and even though we were a rustling bunch with windbreakers etc, we still got lucky and got to see a kiwi along with several tuataras and an amazingly huge eel. Well worth the time to trek around someplace this cool so close to the city.

Thank 677JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Incredible way to spend a couple of hours right on the City doorstep to see how they’ve transformed into wildlife sanctuary.
Free shuttle bus runs from the cable car every 10 minutes and you can have either guided or self guided walks around.
You are guaranteed to see wildlife here and the information boards assist very well.
Would highly recommend

Thank WinteringhamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place to have a coffee and hike to see beautiful birds. We were lucky enough on the day we visited to see Taratuas, Kaka birds and Tui birds, along with parakeets. This is a wonderful place for the whole family. I strongly recommend this bird sanctuary.

Thank Yolie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you love to walk in a bush setting, this place is great. I visited this place with my family and my teens international student last August 12, 2018. I only gave 3 stars because I did not get a good customer service.

I left my picnic bag at the boat and would like to retrieve it, but the staff in the desk did not help me out. I am very disappointed, I was not able to retrieved my picnic bag with the food on it. They are not very helpful.

If they will improve there customer service, I will give it a 5 star.

Thank vittles_HSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEALANDIA-Sanctuary, Lead Ranger Sales & Information at ZEALANDIA Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are very sorry that we were unable to help you with your request during your visit. We will endeavour to avoid this happening again in the future, and we hope to see you again soon at ZEALANDIA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Zealandia as we love our native birds and are lucky enough to have our own garden full of (some of them)… what an absolute treat. We saw every bird, except the Takahe, as the pair are mating and needed some quiet, which will hopefully result in a healthy chick this year, fingers crossed! It is such a lovely place to visit even if you're not into birds. The many walks are lovely, just enjoying the bush and birdsong is awesome. The staff are very knowledgeable, friendly & helpful, which adds to the experience. To see our native birds as they would be in the wild and not in cages was amazing and we felt very privileged. The boat ride (gold coin donation) was a lovely way to start the day. If you have children, this is an absolute MUST. My tip, go in the morning and take your time, just wander, relax and enjoy. Don't set a specific amount of time. We spent nearly the entire day there and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Thank FreeasabirdPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very tranquil and worth the mini bus down from the top of the cable car station. Completely natural and peaceful. Sighted birds however need a bit of time to ovserve. Guides available however we chose to meander along the paths. Worthy of support to help preserve native mammals and birds.

Thank Queenslandroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Allow two hours minimum to maximise the experience! Our guide was DON who was excellent! He set a good fast pace to make sure we managed to see all the current highlights! Underfoot terrain is generally good paths. However, to fully explore the site one will be off-road on occasions.
A great Birdie experience. I will be back!

Thank Adamthegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews