We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place”

ZEALANDIA Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.32*
and up
Zealandia: The Exhibition and Sanctuary Valley
Ranked #5 of 230 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: ZEALANDIA is a heaven of tropical bliss right on the doorstep of Wellington City. Affectionately referred to as a hidden gem ZEALANDIA received international acclaim for the groundbreaking predator free 8.6km fence. Since the completion of the fence in 1999 ZEALANDIA has brought a number of native birds, reptiles and wildlife back from the brink of extinction where they now roam freely through the 225 hectare valley. A visit to ZEALANDIA is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and a must for anyone visiting Wellington. There are a number treks to saunter, suitable for any fitness level. Alternatively step back in time with our interactive exhibition center or take a load off at the atmospheric Rata Café.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

is a nice place to take the kids to, very quite at times, the cafe and the staff are really good parking always available, I would go back again on a nice day

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Public Relations Manager at ZEALANDIA Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review Hannah. The peace and quiet is a wonderful tonic - a sanctuary for people as well as nature :) We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,130
    425
    86
    30
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The sanctuary is a great place to visit in Wellington but it is quite pricey, especially if you are going as a family.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shona2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Public Relations Manager at ZEALANDIA Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Our prices are due for renewal before next summer and will aim to make the sanctuary more accessible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Night time tour a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We went to the night time tour of Zealandia and was not really sure what to expect but it was an amazing evening. Wandering in a small group listening to the bird calls with a very experienced and enthusiastic tour guide was fantastic. We managed to see a kiwi, glow-worms, eels, reptile, insects - a great number of little critters. This is an amazing project and well worth the visit :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Public Relations Manager at ZEALANDIA Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your night tour so much. Our guides do their best to find those unusual nocturnal animals and it feels so different to the day time. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great place to take the kids for walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Arrived here just after 10am with 3 young boys 2 x 4yr olds & a 6yr old. We decided to walk around the site first taking the easier red route. The kids loved the adventure, seeing the different birds and reptiles as we walked around. Climbing up to the look out tower, running across the dam, bouncing over the suspension bridge, it was fun. We took about 2 hrs then headed to the cafe for some lunch, which was really good food. After lunch we headed to the exhibition which was so informative, and the kids loved all the interaction stuff.

This is a great place to visit, and if we'd been holidaying for longer we'd have gone back to here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Public Relations Manager at ZEALANDIA Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
It's always great to hear about families enjoying the sanctuary, there is so much to explore for everyone. Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
632 reviews
433 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Karori Bird Sanctuary Wellington New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

What an amazing place and set in the middle of Wellington, and it is pest free. Whoever had the vision and thought thankyou. To be able to wander around in the enclosure amongst the most amazing birds and birdsong is very unusual. Anyone visiting Wellington should visit this place. Its easy walking, well signposted.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S, Public Relations Manager at ZEALANDIA Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. Jim Lynch had the initial vision and the support of many others including the local community. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, I agree it's pretty amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZEALANDIA Sanctuary also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to ZEALANDIA Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing