We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in Wellington”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We really enjoy staying at the Novotel Wellington. Always receive great service from the staff, never have had a bad meal, and the refurbished rooms are very comfortable. The location in Wellington is also very convenient.

A hint: We belong to the Accor Advantage Plus programme and can recommend it highly. Good rates, discounts on meals, room upgrades where available and free wi-fi.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the city are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazysteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again recently and taking the time to post such a fantastic feedback!

It is great to read that we are able to exceed your expectations each time you stay. We do appreciate your continued support and loyalty and certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Wellington in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 2,069 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Paid for Executive room with superb views over wellington harbour. Had 2 great breakfasts which set us up for the day. Reception staff could not have been more helpful and gave us a free late checkout as we waited for our InterIslander ferry.
The lift down to Lambton Quay was a real boon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Charles,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to post such a fantastic feedback!

We very much appreciate your comments as we are committed to providing a great value experience in an excellent location, with friendly and efficient service.

Look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Wellington in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Got a great rate for the Easter Special, but was left feeling underwhelmed.

Checked in around midnight as previously advised, and reservation was in place and check in was ok, found the staff member rather rude/abrupt but maybe it had something to do with the time of the night.

The next morning when going to take a shower, I was rather dismayed, grossed out to find the previous guests underwear still in the bathroom. I mentioned what had happened at check out and the staff didn't really seem to care. When I called this morning I was told that the room had been checked prior to arrival, but someone had been checked into that room, and didn't like it and was moved to another room, and no one checked it prior to it being allocated to me - not good enough.

The room itself was functionable with great view over on the CBD area, and glimpses of water.

Didn't avail myself of the free breakfast as the underwear incident left a bad taste in my mouth (No pun intended).

It's a great location in the CBD, with direct access from Lambton Quay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lambton Quay facing room for the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Jack30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to post your feedback.

It is disappointing from our perspective to read your feedback as we do pride ourselves on delivering the highest possible level of cleanliness and guest service at all time.

I have passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper to discuss with her team to ensure incidents like this do not occur again in the future.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and we hope to be at your service again.


Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in Wellington for 3 nights at the end of our Honeymoon. The Novotel was lovely - clean and comfortable, with excellent staff. We had tea at the hotel on the first night, which was incredible - pricey but absolutely delicious!!! On the last night of our stay we had room service which was again, absolutely delicious.
In a good area and just a short lift ride then walk to the cable car!
Breakfast was included and there was a good range of choices!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Alicia E,
Thank you for posting such great feedback following your recent visit to Wellington and congratulations on your wedding.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,422 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $109 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing