We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Wellington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Fitness center
Park Hotel Lambton Quay(Wellington)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Quest on Johnston(Wellington)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,137)
Filter reviews
2,137 results
Traveler rating
667
1,032
352
63
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
1,032
352
63
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambton quayaccor membervalet parkingaccor hotelsdirect accesscable carthe main shopping streetgood sizecentral locationbreakfast was includedfree wifinew zealandper nightcomfortable hotelhotel restaurantcomfortable staybotanical gardens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
969 - 974 of 2,137 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel does not have an area where you can pull up and park whilst you check in, in fact we were at a loss to know where to park. The hotel is on a busy city centre street and there was nowhere to stop outside. Having overcome this problem by phoning the hotel for instructions we duly stopped outside and a valet parker appeared to remove the car. Once stopped and out of the car we noticed a small sign indicating valet parking but this had been obscured by 2 coaches when we first drove past.

Check in was swift and efficient and our rooms were clean and comfortable, if a little on the small side.

Because of the heavy rain we decided to eat in on the first night, a mistake for 2 reasons. 1. We had to wait over a hour for a table because, although there were tables available, the chef couldn't cope, there was a large tour group in and he was struggling to fill their order. 2. We ate out on our second night and the meal was excellent and relatively cheap (Two Souls).

Considering the standard of hotel that we had encountered and were to go on and encounter during our tour this was distinctly disappointing and did not measure up to many of the others. This was not a relaxing stopover and we couldn't wait to be off.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinsteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Wellington recently and taking the time to post your feedback.

Being one of the busiest hotels in Wellington, we aim to be able to offer our guests the best service we can, however, I do apologise that we were not able to meet your expectations.

Please rest assured that this is not our usual level of service and I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back, so that we can give you the perfect experience.

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our first impression of this hotel was not good. It's located on a busy street and when we arrived we had no idea where to park. There was a bus and a coach outside the hotel. We had to drive on, find somewhere to pull over and phone the hotel for instructions. When we returned the bus had gone (there's a bus stop right outside the hotel) and we could then see a small notice (chained to the bus stop) saying that there was valet parking. The car was then taken away for us. Check in was efficient.
The room was comfortable, although not particularly big. We paid for wifi which was agonisingly slow. When we complained we were given some extra time.
The first evening we ate in the restaurant. Although there were tables free we were told we would have to wait until the tour group had been served as the chef couldn't cope with us as well! In the end the half-hour wait became an hour! If it hadn't been pouring down with rain we would have gone elsewhere.
I had to laugh at the Accor mission statement on the wall which talked about anticipating customers's needs etc etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Maureen,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Wellington recently and taking the time to post your feedback.

Being one of the busiest hotels in Wellington, we aim to be able to offer our guests the best service we can, however, I do apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Please rest assured that this is not our usual level of service and I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back, so that we can give you the perfect experience.

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel itself was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful (although the parking situation was abysmal). The breakfast provided was more than adequate. We only stayed for a quick overnight so the pseudo-modern room decor didn't bother me TOO much, but it was pretty odd. A good location to access seafood restaurants on the wharf.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Tom,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to write your feedback.

It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am glad to note the service we provide and the Hotel's central location was well suited for your needs while travelling on business.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Wellington in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews