We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Russell, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I've stayed here before a few years ago on a business trip so when I needed a good place that is within walking distance to Te Papa this time around I choose the Novotel - also because they had a special for Accor Advantage Plus members which was hard to resist.

I may have mentioned that before here about hotels in Wellington - they are usually cheaper if one stays on a weekend than during the week - so I stayed a Sunday night - the stormy night of ex cyclone Lusi (made for a rough landing at the airport).

The hotel is actually on the Terrace but has internal access from Lambton Key through the shopping center there via the car park - that was very handy on a wet and windy night as otherwise I would have been soaked getting there.

Staff are very friendly and I had a room on the 5th floor facing away from the waterfront. Very spacious and clean, big king bed and by comparison a small bathroom. The bathroom is the only thing I have a small problem with - the shower head is fixed and quite high - impossible not to get your hair wet when showering... if they would provide a shower cap that would be nice - so wet hair - onto the hair dryer... oh well... one of those fixed - one setting for all things that basically stopped working after half a minute - so half a head done - the other not... just not good enough really.

Other than that - a nice stay and great breakfast but as I said - the location is key here.

Room Tip: Try and get a waterfron facing room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again recently and taking the time to post your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Novotel Wellington and I am also glad to note that you were able to make the most of your Accor Advantage Plus membership benefits.

On your next visit, simply ask our friendly Front Desk team to provide you with a shower cap and they will be happy to deliver it to your room.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future!


Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    971
    337
    61
    23
See reviews for
434
828
147
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
905 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Overall a nice place to stay. I know travelers would appreciate complimentary WiFi in the hotel rooms. Easier on us as we are sometimes weary.
The rooms are clean, comfy, good beds and pillows. Safe in the closet, kettle for boiling water, large windows, air conditioning, car park service.
The staff are helpful, we stayed here 2 1/2 yrs ago and returned...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Morcella,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again recently and taking the time to post your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Novotel Wellington and we certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

excellent service, location and product presentation and would be recommended
Staff very helpfull, Hotel very well presented, room modern and fresh with super comforatble beds, will stay again in the near future

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Darren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Darren,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to post such a fantastic feedback!

It is very pleasing to note that we were able to get everything right for you and I will surely pass on your wonderful comments to our team. Our Novotel beds are indeed relaxing and comfortable and add to the wonders of your good night's sleep!

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Counting the Novotel Wellington, I've stayed in 3 different Novotels in Australia and New Zealand.

The very first Novotel I ever stayed in was the Novotel, Darling Harbour, Sydney. I quite enjoyed that particular stay (but then again I was much younger then and didn't necessarily know any better). The second Novotel I've had the (dis)-pleasure of staying in is the Novotel Canberra. Those stays were less than satisfactory -- to put it succinctly, service quality sucked; which brings me to the Novotel Wellington.

As with the my first two Novotels, the hard product did not disappoint and was up to par with what you have a right to expect from a 3-1/2 to 4 star hotel.

My executive room was of a good size. Unfortunately, I had (thanks to the HSBC building) only a partial view of the harbor. The TV was of a good size (around 40 inches). Staying with the electronics theme, I appreciated the presence of a wall mounted USB port which allowed me to charge my I-devices. However, I should mention that the desk mounted outlets are shaped for AUS/NZ electrical plugs rather than universal outlets. Speaking of the desk, I also dislike the absence of stationery and envelopes. The king sized bed was comfortable and the window side chaise lounge (or whatever the furniture is actually called) was appreciated as well. Other reviewers don't seem to like the blood-spatter curtains but they didn't bother me in the least. In room WiFi was adequate. Access is capped at 1 GB per day though; fine if all you're doing is checking email, your FB page and what not. However, if you want to stream movies or TV shows, you'll likely reach the cap quite quickly. Rounding off the room-proper inventory is the mini-bar, fridge and coffee maker.

Bathroom wise, it was (no surprise) a shower-tub combination stocked with no-name/in-house toiletries. Water pressure was very good (but not glorious) and while the towels were fine, I've seen better.

Breakfast was, as expected, adequate. All the staples of a Western (American) Breakfast were present. However, the food items on offer did not change from day to day.

The hotel also has direct access to Lambton Quay (available through an elevator), a welcome amenity.

As for the soft product -- the front desk was good but housekeeping was perfunctory (at best). Used toiletries were not replaced (in my case that would be the cotton buds); the free bottled water was never replenished and I only received a morning newspaper once during the 4 days I was there. (Still, at least service was better overall than the Novotel Canberra, where both the front desk and housekeeping can't be bothered.)

To conclude, my stay was just okay. While the Novotel Wellington was better than the Novotel Canberra... it isn't as if Canberra set a high standard to begin with.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhTravelling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to write a detailed feedback.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities to ensure we are maintaining our high expectations and meeting our guest expectations.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Novotel Wellington. On arrival reception was very welcoming and nothing was a problem. Location of Hotel is very central and close to Museum, restaurants, buses and Cuba Street. Room was cleaned to a very high standard. Dinner in the dining room is good value with excellent customer service. Breakfast served every morning was excellent with a great variety of food for all tastes .Accor certainly have it right with bedding and linen .Rooms are spotless .About a 10 minute walk can get you to the harbour.I would certainly stay again and congratulations to the Manager of this establishment. There is no swimming pool but the gym over the road has a swimming pool which can be used.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to post such a fantastic feedback!

It is very pleasing to note that we were able to get everything right for you and I will surely pass on your wonderful comments to our team. Your compliments and appreciation will go a long way with them.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

While I only stayed one night at the Novotel, it met all the requirements I have as a business traveler. The hotel is centrally located and is a short walk to the city center, my office and a host a restaurants. A 10 minute walk can get you to the harbour where there is a good range of eateries, otherwise you might find a good one on the way there! The room was as a I expected, good quality finishings, pleasant decor, great bed and the necessary technology trimmings (wifi, power etc) to help me work in the evening. All up, it was an enjoyable stay. As the hotel is built on a small shopping center, be aware that access to the hotel can be a bit difficult out of hours.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamnewanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to write your feedback.

It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am glad to note the service we provide and the Hotel's central location was well suited for your needs while travelling on business.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Wellington in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Property: Novotel Wellington
Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing