We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay during conference and WOW”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    971
    337
    61
    23
See reviews for
434
828
147
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Firstly greeted by friendly staff that are only too obliging to make stay great. Rooms clean, good size, and well equipped. Food at restaurant very good. Service makes the difference here and can only report excellent effort and results.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jadedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Jadedog,
Thanks for the feedback. It was great to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed three nights. Our first trip to Wellington, so not sure where to stay. This was a great choice. Very cheerful, obliging staff. Room was great, food was great, from the sit down dinner to the pizza we had as a bar snack after coming back from watching the rugby final. So handy just to get the lift from the hotel directly on to Lambton Quay. No need to hire a car, as we just walked everywhere. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when we go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Maryann M,
Thanks for posting such great feedback, we very much appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you back again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Very average hotel. Location is great, I believe that's where it stops. Bed very uncomfortable. Then need to be turned more often. Room service is a joke, food cold and as always very over priced. Free internet was a bonus. Shop around before selecting this hotel

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank travelin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Travelin45,
Thank you for the feedback. It was disappointing to read that we were not able to meet your expectations throughout your stay and we will take your comments on board and work hard to ensure we continue to evolve our guest services.
Once again, thank you for the feedback.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in the Executive room for 2 nights and were lured to this room due to the espresso machine provided in this package. The room was stylishly furbished and it was comfortable during our stay. We upgraded to the buffet breakfast which was also good (usual breakfast options plus omelettes made on request - this was the highlight of breakfast).

The staff were very friendly and helpful as it was our first time in Wellington and they provided maps and suggestions of places to see and places to eat.

The hotel location was great for us as access to Lambton Quay was a lift ride away and main city attractions were only a short walk away.

Parking I think is overpriced as there was a much cheaper parking lot behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Try the executive rooms with the espresso machine in the room if you are a coffee buff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Lilian W,
Thank you for the feedback. It was great to read you liked our Executive Room type and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Property: Novotel Wellington
Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing