We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant overnight getaway”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“A pleasant overnight getaway”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We walked in off the street randomly needing a bed for the night. We were pleased with the room & couldn't fault the service. Didn't notice any noise. The restaurant & bar looked inviting but we had another engagement to go to.

Watch the shower water creeping to the door. Thought $25 a night was dear enough for parking so found another option up the road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Susan M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor website. We appreciate the comments you made and hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    959
    331
    60
    22
See reviews for
427
818
147
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Novotel on The Terrace over a weekend in early August. Our room was very spacious and the decor was very modern. There was plenty of room to have our 2 suitcases out and still have plenty of space to move around the room and the large windows, facing the harbour (although the view was mostly of the city buildings with only a glimpse of the harbour from our 5th floor room) ensured the room wasn't too dark. The extra seating option of a chaise-lounge-type sofa was a nice touch, as so often in hotel rooms the only options are to sit on the bed or an uncomfortable desk chair. The bathroom was also spacious enough with a nice big mirror, good lighting and shower over the bath. We appreciated the air-con system that allowed us to set the temperature in the room ourselves.
The location of the hotel is great, with a lift from the hotel directly down to Lambton Quay, from where it's a short-ish walk to great restaurants and bars on Courtenay Place. Also about a 10 min brisk walk to the New World Metro on Willis St from the hotel as well.
Only slightly down-sides was that the bed was a little on the hard side - but that is often the case with hotel beds. And the TV remote seemed to take a fair few clicks before the TV would respond in changing channels or volume - but not a big deal, only mildly frustrating.
We would highly recommend the Novotel Wellington and will definetley be returning to stay for our next visit to the capital.

Room Tip: We had a room on the harbour side of the hotel, on the 5th floor. The view was mainly of the city bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Rin007,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We very much appreciate the comments you made and look forward to being of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a great hotel this is with friendly staff and the food just amazing, great room with views over the harbour. Location in the centre CBD so really good for getting sightseeing, the Rose Gardens really beautiful and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose harbour view room on high level very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear DebbieLight,
Thank you for posting such great feedback on the hotel, we really appreciate the comments you made and hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Property: Novotel Wellington
Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing