We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a weekend getaway in Wellington”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked here for one night with a friend, we arrived on an early flight and arrived at the hotel around 11am thinking we wouldn't be able to check in for hours, they checked us in straight away and we could relax in our room. The beds in the room were so comfortable and the standard of room was fine. They have happy hour in the bar $4 drinks at 4pm $5 dollar drinks at 5 etc which was a nice. Breakfast buffet was good too. It was a great stay for a very reasonable price including breakfast so we were happy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyekyenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Kyekyenz,
Thank you for providing us with your comments following your recent stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to being of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stay here quite regularly when I travel to Wellington with work. Rooms are always clean and hotel is centrally located and close to everything. Only thing I don't like is the feather pillows as they squash down during the night and I wake with a sore neck.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelle1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Chelle1607,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Novotel - recently re-furbished - is ideally placed for business and tourist purposes. The staff are attentive and concerned that guests have a good experience whilst staying in the hotel.
The restaurant provides a wide menu for dinner - including family favourites - but the breakfast is quite outstanding.
The hotel offers good value - especially if you book early to take advantage of special promotions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 39J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear 39J,
Thank you for posting your feedback on the hotel. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us and in particular our buffet breakfast. We look forward to being of service again on your next visit to the Capital.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We found the Novotel in Wellington met all our expectations from the friendliness of the staff to the lovely clean rooms and the quality of the food in the restaurant. We were going to a show at the St James Theatre and the restaurant staff ensured that our meals were brought out quickly so we had plenty of time to walk to the theatre (15minutes) from Courtney Place. The beds are always so comfortable and the decor of the rooms only adds to the ambience of our whole stay at this hotel. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much appreciate the comments you made with regards the F&B team. We hope to see you back in the hotel again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would recommend the Novetel Wellington for the following reasons.
Central location A lift took you straight to Lampton Quay.It was also two doors up from the cable car and near the wharf.
The staff are very helpful and will go out of their way to offer assistance
The beds are very comfortable
We upgraded our room and had a view of the city and bay
The basic room is not very big.
We are members of Accor and so benefited from the discounted accomodation and food which is very good value
Their is no laundry but the ibis is very close and we sat in their comfortable lobby while our clothes were being washed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kaz5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Kaz5346,
Thank you for posting your feedback on the hotel. We value the comments you made and hope to see you back again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Breakfast at the hotel very good.
Personnel on the front desk excellent.
Lovely bed and bedding
Although the hotel is situated on the Terrace, the lift will take you straight down to the main shopping street.
New exhibition on in Wellington @ Te Papa, excellent, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jmsnzjmsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Jmsnzjmsnz,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We value the comments you made and hope to see you back again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for just one night and found it comfortable and clean with all extras needed to make a pleasant stay. The room was small. The location of the hotel is ideal. It is very central and has a lift that gets you right down to Lampton Quay. Good value for money and walking distance to central Wellington venues.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Nikola180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Nikola180,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed our central location and we hope to be of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $108 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing