We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location and nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 and had a nice time exploring the city. The hotel makes a great base for this because you can go out the "back door" straight onto Lambton Quay and within a couple of minutes, you're in the middle of everything. The valet parking was well worth the $28 because they also re=packed our car for us as a well as parked the car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Robg721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Robg721,

Thank you for the feedback. It was great to read you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    955
    327
    58
    21
See reviews for
422
815
146
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable. The location was great. It was pretty expensive, but perhaps not for the market it is in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MaryBC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear MaryBC2013,
Thank you for posting your feedback on the hotel. The comments you made are very much appreciated and we hope to be of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days on business. Had a harbour view on the 10th floor which was awesome. Reception staff were very helpful in provision of printing, photo-copying etc.
It is centrally with easy acces to the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room. These look out onto the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Mark F,
Thank you for taking the time to post such great feedback following your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here just after christmas for two nights. Parking was by valet and this seemed a little unorganised but was carried out with no problem once we had announced our arrival.

Reception staff friendly and helpful, if a little overwhelmed by not having enough staff for what seemed like a busy time.

Room was spacious, comfortable, modern and very clean, definitely value for money. good TV, good air con, internet connectivity was fine and there were enough toiletries and towels for us all. OK view, but nothing special, Comfy beds and quiet.

Breakfast was very, very good, plenty of choice of both hot and cold and no limits on what we could eat.

We did not eat in the restaurant as the prices seemed excessive when one only had a short walk into town with all the restaurants that Wellington has to offer.

Good value for money, would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room on 7th floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay with us earlier in the year. We very much appreciate the comments you made and hope to be of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel has small but efficient modern rooms. It is clean, with basic toiletery and a comfortable bed. Wi- fi in your room will cost you extra $$, which we find an abberation.
There was plenty of choice for breakfast ; however, it was not very good, with a funny- tasting coffee. The swimming pool is in another hotel. The personnal was polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Dominique G,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was disappointing to read that you did not enjoy the breakfast buffet and we can only apologise for not meeting your expectations. Once again, thank you for the feedback.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a short but very pleasant stay in January visiting family. We arrived late, or rather, very early in the morning and the staff member was very welcoming. All staff were really helpful, friendly and keen to do anything for us. The room was good - good size, comfortable bed and a tv that worked as well as a great view over the city and looking out to the harbour. Even though located on the Terrace, there was great access to the central city with elevators going directly to one of the main streets. The gym was small and not really very adequate but we were lucky with terrific weather so enjoyed running around the city and beachside instead. We had a special accommodation price which worked out to be truly excellent value for money.

Room Tip: looking out over the city and over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAH123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear SAH123_10,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay with us in January. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to be of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

terrific hotel

faultless in terms of service , location ,attitude of the staff & the rooms are excellent.On checking out we were able to leave our car & bags while we went into town for breakfast. The hotel is typical of the Accor group and i find they are excellent the world over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommark54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Tommark54,
Thank you for taking the time to post such great feedback on the hotel following your recent stay with us and we hope to be of service again in the near future,
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Property: Novotel Wellington
Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing