We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Enjoyed Wellington and our stay at Novotel added to our enjoyment. Elevator direct to main shopping area and next door to cable car made it the perfect spot. 10 minute walk to ferry then a further 10 minute walk to main restaurant areas. Buses were available but we enjoyed the walk. Hotel buffet breakfast quite nice, fairly small restaurant. Service was good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellarose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Bellarose3,
Thank you for the feedback, we very much appreciate the comments you made and hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandvdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our room on the 9th floor had a pleasant outlook of the harbour and city buildings. Room was very comfortable, newly refurbished and quiet. The modern Samsung TV had very poor sound quality, the highest volume was 19 which was bearly audible.
The bed was very comfortable.
Our dining experience the first evening was disappointing. Knowing a large group was expected to dine at 7pm we chose, as suggested by restaurant staff, to dine at 6pm when the restaurant opened. Wine, then bread and dips were served within 15 mins and then we waited another hour before the main meal arrived, by which time the large group had arrived and already started their buffet meal. Staff apologized for the wait and gave a complimentary glass of wine. The eye fillet steak meal on our third and last evening was spoilt by being overcooked, vegetables served with the meal were delicious. Can highly recommend the chicken curry meal. Deserts were excellant.
Restaurant staff were attentive, friendly and did their best to make up for the long wait on the first evening. Buffet Breakfast was one of the best we have experienced.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the Front Desk Manager.
For location and convenience, we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Carol373,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the volume quality on the TV, I will ensure our Engineering team investigate and correct this issue.
Once again thanks for the feedback and we hope to be of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vadernz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night in late January. Had read in previous reviews the rooms had been renovated - they are fantastic. The bathrooms are brilliantly white and bright, the rooms are well thought out with great decor. And well lit - it is so nice to have enough light to be able to read with. We shared an interconnecting room, one with a king bed, the other with two doubles. The king room had a chaise lounge with a small table which was great for extra seating and to eat our room service dinner at. Was very impressed. Had stayed here about seven years ago and came back for the location. The renovations and friendly reception staff were a bonus!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youmeandher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Youmeandher,
Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent stay with us, we very much appreciate the great feedback and it was pleasing to read you enjoyed the new rooms; we think they are fantastic too!
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Margaret62
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very good weekend deal for family , it was great value when kids eta free for paying breakfast , plus $30 voucher each day to use within the hotel , they are really trying. Room was fresh , very clean . 2 Double beds just makes it little seem quite small . Front desk was very Friendly and helpful.

Couple of things left, I asked for an upgrade , and was given harbor side ..only thing was there was a huge office building in the way .And one let down and I say it because Wellington Prides it's self on coffee was the coffee , for market prices it was very average. All up top marks.
Will book my business trips here now.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mqnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Mqnstr,
Thank you for posting your feedback on the hotel, we very much appreciate the comments you made. We hope to be of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#15 of 47 in Wellington
2,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington
Grand Mercure Wellington
#18 of 47 in Wellington
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $111 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing