We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Wellington”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    975
    338
    61
    23
See reviews for
435
829
148
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I took my grandson to Wellington for his 11th Birthday and was VERY happy with our stay. I thought that it was great value, the beds were very comfortable, the location was perfect for us and the highlight of our trip was the included buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilgourFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Kilgourfamily,

Thank you for posting your comments on the Trip Advisor website. It was great to read that you and your grandson were very happy with your recent stay at the hotel. It is always a please to receive positive feedback and we hope to be of service again on your next visit to the Capital.

Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed 3 times now mostly due to club status......rooms ok tho little small for more than 2-3 days.
Service pleasant tho no initiative shown when necessary. Free 30 mins or 8MB per day is great tho shame cannot be used in rooms and need to go to lobby to use - bit odd?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear sjlavender,

Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate the comments you made and we hope to be of service again in the near future.

Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NZ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel for a family holiday, this was my childrens first experience of staying in a hotel and it couldn't have been a better experience. The staff were superb, always speaking when they saw us and always on hand to answer questions. The location was perfect for a holiday without our own transport, a quick ride in the lift and we were in the centre of Wellington. Everything was within a 10-15 minute walking distance except the zoo and that was a simple bus ride that we managed no problems. An added bonus was the ability to leave our luggage at the hotel when we flew into Wellington before check in time and the same when we departed - much better than carrying heavy bags around until our flight time. The room we were given had a view of the harbour, was clean and tons big enough for an adult and 2 kids. The meals were out of this world especially breakfast and great value for money as the kids both ate free with one parent. Room service meals were always on time, delicious, a good size and served by very pleasant polite staff. Great value for money and something we will do again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieCanterbury_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear DebbieCantebury_NZ,

Thank you for posting such great feedback following your recent stay with us here at the Novotel Wellington. The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Novotel Wellington. We look forward to being of service again in the near future.

Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The service was just fantastic. They could not do enough to ensure my family had a wonderful holiday in beautiful Wellington.
Location is handy to the main shopping district and public transport.
Rooms are modern and OK sized.
Outstanding value - stayed 4 nights and with Accor Advantage card discount plus a $30 per day voucher ended up paying only $60 above the room rate for the entire stay - never had a cheaper better stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Niko1968,

Thank you for taking the time to post such great feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. The comments you made are very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you back in the hotel at some stage in the near future.

Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just had a night at this hotel- reviewing all Wgtn hotels before coming , it appears there aren't any with consistently high reviews for all aspects of a stay.
Foyer- very tired. The 'business centre' is two computers by the lifts in full view of the public
Two groups of chairs and two tables comprise the ' lounge area'!!! It is attached to the dining area with no screening - ie foyer, lifts, business centre, lounge and dining all meld into one small dingy space.
Room - I did read that someone thought it resembled a forensic nightmare! - Red spattered paintings, red splatters design on the cream curtains etc- and yes this is true!!- Odd to say the least and not in good taste. Red themed bedrooms generally NOT a colour that would denote calmness, wellbeing or welcoming- more along the lines of red light .......!!
Room was spacious, bed comfy.
However- what on earth was the noise at 3,3.30, 4 4.30 and 5am- Woken abruptly with very loud knocking coming from the ceiling that went on for around 2 minutes each time. Having lived through quake city Christchurch and its 11,000 aftershocks this was pretty impressive and guaranteed to prevent sleep for the rest of the night. We presume it is the water?? pipes. Unacceptable in any hotel, but certainly not in one that rates as 4 star. THis needs to be addressed.
If you enjoy a good nights sleep, or if you sleep badly, then this hotel probably isn't for you
Staff- on front desk; business like, helpful, and friendly.
Having travelled alot overseas and having reviewed all hotels for this weekend, our expectations weren't too high- just as well.
OK for families, groups, teams, etc probably business at a push- but nowhere to do any private business work other than the room.
Very average

Room Tip: If the noise from the ? pipes is endemic in all rooms then can't recommend any . Maybe a respons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Anne M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post your feedback.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities to ensure we are maintaining our high expectations and meeting our guest expectations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not providing the kind of service and facilities that you would rightfully expect from us.

Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Property: Novotel Wellington
Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing