We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service a gret stay thank you”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    959
    331
    60
    22
See reviews for
427
818
147
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We usually stay at the Novotel in Wellington, however this time we decided to stay elsewhere as heard the new decor was terrible. After a horrible 2 day stay elsewhere and then having jetstar cancel our flight, Novotel were the only hotel that woul take us in at 1am with no credit card an just cash to our name. They offered a late check out for 2pm so we could have time to sort our flights and insurance and a huge discount on the room! Novotel staff have the best customer service and were so understanding. We dealt with Ravi, Greta, Olivia and a huge thanks to Niki.
The decor really isn't that bad and does not look like a csi room when all elements and art work are taken into consideration - I do prefer the old decor but this does give it more of a modern twist and much better lighting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAnd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear DanAnd3,
Thank you for your feedback. It was pleasing to read that our team were able to assist you when you flight was cancelled and you were able to take time to make alternative travel arrangements. I will ensure you comments are passed on to those staff members that you made reference of.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent hotel, customer service at reception and at the restaurant were great. Really wonderful hotel, just like all the other Novotels we have stayed in around the world. 100% fantastic. The restaurant menu was extensive and all the food we ordered was lovely. Breakfast buffet fantstic, wide selection of foods. Handy to all locations, rail station and interislander.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Camsey,
Thank you for posting such great feedback following your recent stay with us. We look forward to being of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
202 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Staff on front desk were friendly, efficient and helpful. The rooms are basic/nothing special but they have been recently refurbished so they look great. The hotel is in a good location (the lifts to lambton quay are fantastic) and the beds are comfortable. No free wifi but there are two computers near reception that you can use. Excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend that people stay here while in Wellington.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Constantlyontheroad,
Thank you for posting your feedback on the Trip Advisor website. It was great to read you were able to take full advantage of our location in the city centre and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dural, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The proverbial [--] hit the fan within seconds of arrival at the front desk.

The Duty Manager calmly stated the booked & fully paid for interconnecting rooms were not available.

We had paid in full back in JULY for 2x EXECUTIVE SUITES - interconnecting (travelling with young children). Our stay was for 7 days & we had also fully paid for breakfast. Total paid was just over AU$3,900.

I asked to see the rooms and I'm so glad I did... management tried to palm us off into a revoltingly squishy room on a high floor with a tiny window overlooking roofs of buildings, yes it was interconnecting, BUT it was definitely not the room I had seen on their website. Nor was it an executive suite. It was a standard high floor room & they had moved the Nespresso machine to turn the room into an executive. Our group of 3 adults & two children were expected to be cramped up in 2 rooms like these for 7 days. I would have become certifiably insane after 1 day!!!!!

Next option was a ground floor, larger room - NOT INTERCONNENCTING, and with a cleaners storage room & another guest room in-between. Great for the children - soooooo safe! The view was of factory shed roof & office buildings. All the rooms had been overhauled with cheap furnishings & smelt of plastic & hideous new carpet gases.

THIS IS NOT EXECUTIVE LIVING - this is what I call poor-mans wasteland trying to be something it's not.

I want to add... I rang Accor reservations & asked about the executive rooms, I looked at their website many times, I read recent reviews, I rang the hotel directly 2 times to ensure the rooms we booked were the rooms we got. I stated clearly a harbour view, connecting suites with 1 king & 2x doubles... yes, yes, yes - it is definitely what we will get. Right.

Now you would think Accor would want to kiss my b*tt in trying to woo me away from my preferred Hilton Diamond status... as they claimed they would before I emailed my status details so they could upgrade my Accor club to match. Now this last few months alone I have spent just over $10,000 at Hilton - this kind of spend deems me to be a preferred guest & I get treated accordingly. I'm used to this standard. Accor knew this. Accor also knew that if they lived up to my expectations then I would also spend big with them. BTW I am not a corporate guest, rather a single parent who works very hard & enjoys luxury when on holidays (which comes out of my pocket, not a corporate expense account).

We arrived at 4.30. By 8.30 we had been refunded (to my credit card, which has yet to clear) in two portions because the badly trained duty manager didn't have a clue in how to do her job. There was no offer to refund me for my 3 lots of exchange rate bank transfer fee's (amounting almost $100) to make the booking & for it to be refunded.

We are now staying at a very highly awarded establishment in a beautiful top floor suite at half the price overlooking Wellington harbour. Our rate included valet parking, internet, a choice of a'la carte or hot buffet breakfast, welcome cocktails & a children's entertainment suite. This hotel knows how to treat their guests & I made sure I told them about Novotel Wellington.

I know where I'd rather be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fusspot-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Property: Novotel Wellington
Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing