We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay at Novotel Wellington Oct 2012” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Wellington

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
christchurch
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Short stay at Novotel Wellington Oct 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Novotel Wellington late in October 2012. No complaints at all. Good sized room, service fine. Conveniently situated. Breakfast included in the deal, which I got via my Accor Advantage Plus membership. We had one dinner in the hotel. Nothing wrong with it, but we would have found it expensive if we hadn't got 50% off the price of the food via my Accor card. Will stay there again - we are usually in Wellington at least once a year. We have often stayed at the Ibis in Wellington, but we prefer the Novotel, and there is often minimal difference in price if I get an Accor member deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Roaming_kiwi58,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us and were able to access our special Advantage Plus membership offer and associated benefits.
We look forward to being of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    945
    319
    57
    20
See reviews for
414
804
146
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

You're better off not staying here if a reliable internet connection is important to your travels -- be it for work emails or planning your holiday.

Yes, there is 30 min of free internet in the lobby. But in your room they charge $30/day for connectivity which glacially slow (when on at all). For reference, I live in Rwanda and I have faster internet there. Pretty surprising.

A hotel in the central business district of the capital of a developed nation can and should do better.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear MarkP_9,
Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent trip to Wellington. It is disappointing to read your comments with regards the internet performance and I can only apologise again for the inconvenience caused. We have raised your concerns with our external provider and are working with them in reviewing the speed of service throughout the hotel.
Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is well located on the Terrace and with an entrance from Lambton Quay. Staff are efficient and friendly and the property is maintained to a high standard. The public area is quite compact with a combined bar and dining area , but it seems to work ok. Rooms have been recently refurbished. The breakfast selection was extensive and well presented. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear GrantAuckland,

Thank you for posting such great feedback, it is very much appreciated and we hope to see you back in the hotel at some stage in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The rooms have been upgraded since I last stayed here. Novotel is a small but modern business hotel in the centre of Wellington above Lambton Quay. This is ideal for those dealing with businesses or government, but is a 15 minute walk to the entertainment / restaurant areas at night. It's also about 15-20 minutes to walk to the railway station, or a bit further to the ferry. Probably better to get a cab.

The rooms are funky and modern, but fairly small. Everything is functional, but it really does cater for business people rather than holidaymakers.

If you are paying for your own stay they sometimes have online deals for weekends that include breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Slgc,

Thank you for posting your feedback on the Trip Advisor website, we sincerely value your comments. The hotel caters for both Business and Leisure travellers and as you commented by utilising the accorhotels.com website you can assess special offers and package deals.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we look forward to being of service again in the future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a great hotel with a lot of benefits. Would definitely stay here again. Great location for looking around Wellington city. The free wifi in reception was a bonus. The breakfast was great and the facilities for guests fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecsmith1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Ecsmith1983,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. The comments you made were very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Novotel rocks! I became very ill, very quickly and the staff were marvellous. They checked on me, supported my partner and assisted the paramedics. Nothing was too much trouble, and all the little details were taken care of without fuss, and without us having to request that they were done. Being away from home and becoming ill can be frightening and lonely - the staff at the Novotel made sure that we were neither.

The room was comfortable and spacious and Housekeeping was good. Checkin was quick, the valet parking was excellent. We've found our preferred hotel in Wellington and will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Andy J,
Thank you for taking the time to post such great feedback following your recent stay with us. We do hope you are feeling better and look forward to seeing you back in the hotel at some stage in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Property: Novotel Wellington
Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing