We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks great on paper but doesn't add up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of QT Museum Wellington

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Looks great on paper but doesn't add up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

My wife and I were thrilled to get a great rate at this perfectly located, hip-looking hotel. When we arrived, we were pleased to see that it appeared to be in good condition, and our room was spacious & clean. But during our two-night stay, we were very disappointed with the level of service, and came away feeling less-than-satisfied. Basic queries -- where can we find an open restaurant on Good Friday; where might we find a gas station on the way to the airport; do you recycle -- were met with blank looks, uncertainty and, in some cases, wrong information. It's really too bad that management apparently hasn't invested in quality training, as the place has great potential to be a solid destination. But as of now, it's just not up to par.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank socalscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    570
    199
    59
    41
See reviews for
189
800
77
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. It was very close to the waterfront (although the view is marred by a parking lot). The lobby is decorated with interesting paintings and chandeliers. The staff was very friendly and did a great job helping us park the rental campervan. The room itself wasn't exactly modern, but it was not outdated by any means. I would describe the decor as moody, which is appropriate for such an artsy hotel. It was very clean and had some nice features like robes, coffee plunger, tea kettle, etc. It was close to downtown restaurants and bars. I highly recommend this to Wellington visitors.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TylerJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire, UK.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

This hotel is right on the waterfront and as the name suggest opposite the Museum. Room was cofortable and clean and therefore a great nights sleep. Restaurant was closed for refurbishment on our 1 night stay but was not an issue as there are plenty of places to eat around the disrict or even central Wellington. Our stay was on Good Friday a bank holiday and we were expecting a reduced rate for parking as indicated by reception but were charged full price. Room was booked through I-Site, very helpfull. We could see the swimming pool from our room but did'nt use.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingNewburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip, i got a free upgrade into the apartment side of the building so the room was huge. The room was very modern and the bath/spa was fantastic. A colleague though stayed in the hotel side and said it is not quite as nice as the apartments, so seems like it is worth the upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank racy_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

I only had one short stay here following a few days work, however every interaction I had with various staff were friendly, efficent and helpful - even when i needed to change rooms at 11.30pm due to a noisy pipe located nearby - that was no problem and staff were quick to respond and took the inititative.
Bus to airport time tables, weather were checked when asked and even a cup of tea made when the machine had run out of water - nothing seemed a problem

And of course - its just beautiful in the lobby! all that amazing art!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

Stayed here on my arrival into Wellington after 2 days travelling from the Uk. No sleep for 36 hours, i was so glad to get to this hotel.

Mini bar and proper coffee maker in the room was a nice touch and overall the room was a good size. Bathroom had a seperate shower and bath.
Location is right in the middle of everything and staff were more than helpful with any problems.

I had booked for two night but it turned out we could only stay one due to time restrictions, but looking back im sorry i didnt spend the second night because we stayed in some awful places after this!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mossalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertLondon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

Stayed here just one night for our southward bound journey on the ferry. Stayed in a suite. Fantastic accomodation with helpful staff. Great bedroom area, big comfy bed with a pillow menu, walk in shower and spa bath and kitchen. City hotel so has no great views from the windows.

Location is really good for the ferry ( 10 mins ). We walked into the centre and found a great Italian restaurant for the evening.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing