We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
QT Museum Wellington
Nearby Hotels
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$123
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
$116
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$181
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$133
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$84
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$59
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$171
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Airport Motel(Wellington)
$89
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest on Johnston(Wellington)
$90
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,855)
Filter reviews
1,855 results
Traveler rating
832
669
232
80
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
832
669
232
80
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippopotamus restaurantte papaart collectiongreat arthuge bathacross the roadapartment roomespresso machinerain showerpublic areasnew zealandharbour viewmini barwasher dryercourtney placecourtenay placelocation is great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,709 - 1,714 of 1,855 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Great location across the street from the world class national museum... we had a spacious apartment room with tiny kitchen including washer/dryer. I learned later that not all the rooms have these amenities...loved the New World supermarket nearby and was able to walk to restaurants, shopping, cable car (to the lovely botanic gardens).

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank AlamoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

This hotel is very central for downtown Wellington, and is right across the street from the national museum. We could walk to many restaurants, the harbor, and there's a grocery store next door.

The room was clean and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had no issues and enjoyed our stay. There was a restaurant in house, but we didn't try it out.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdwatcher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

I've had occasion to stay at the Museum Hotel a couple of times this year. The first time, back in June we booked a standard room over the internet and were really impressed with the large, spacious room and enormous bathroom we were given. Although part of the view out the window was straight into an apartment building, we were at the end of the building so we did have a partial view down the street to the centre of the city. We were so impressed with what we got for our money that we returned in early Sept with our parents who were celebrating their wedding anniversary. We booked a standard room again, but this time we found ourselves in a shoe box with a view straight in to a neighbouring apartment building which is at very close proximity. There was barely room to swing the proverbial. BUT... we ate in the restaurant "Hippopotamus" and it more than made up for the mediocre room...the food was perfect (french), the service attentive but not intrusive and the tables spaced far enough apart to make for a very pleasant evening with family. I would thoroughly recommend eating at the Museum hotel but maybe spend the extra to upgrade to a harbour view room...they are much more spacious (the family we were with had these rooms so we checked them out) and there's no apartment dwellers eye-balling you every time you look out the window!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar_Holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Checked into a Chaffers Suite for a two night stay for a long weekend. Our room 614 had a lovely view of the harbour, but also had a view of a small parking lot and the conference rooms next door. However we did not really find this a problem. Check in was friendly and fast. The room itself had a small kitchen with fridge, washing machine, dishwasher, and stove top. The bed was a comfortable king with good pillows. The flat screen tv was on the small side, but saying that we were not in Wellington to watch tv. A divan was placed beside the large window allowing you to see the view while reading,etc. and there was also a work desk. The bulb was burnt out in the desk lamp and the light in the closet was not even hooked up, so it made it a bit dark trying to find your clothes. We left the bulb out of the lamp on the desk, but it was not replaced. Upon check out we informed the reception of both issues. What we missed in the room was a full length mirror and a room safe.
The bathroom was small, but had an attractive sink with space for your toiletries. The bath was large enough for two, with the shower beside the bath. The shower had both a rainhead and a hand held shower. Water pressure was pretty good. Four bath towels were provided without having to ask, I like that. There was also a hand held magnifying mirror.
Regarding this room being called a suite- it is a large room, but with no separate bedroom/lounge as such, just one larger room. I also prefer a duvet cover changed every visit rather than having a cover that always remains on the bed over the duvet.

The hotel lobby is interesting and was filled with motorcycles and art during our visit.

We dined at Hippopotamus and the meal was first class with good service.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. It is in walking distance of just about everything and provides parking for 20.00 per day.

We would stay at the Museum hotel again, but only in the Chaffers Suite or 1 bedroom apartment in the newer section of the hotel.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank avb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We were in town for an anniversary to relax and have a look around Wellington and the Museum Hotel was recommended to us. It is fantastically located with the restaurant/pub scene of Courtney Place just a short walk (2 blocks) away, and of course the Te Papa museum across the road. Staff were friendly and efficient, the room was large and comfortable (harbour view). Only drawbacks were the size and location of the TV (a new flat screen which you could watch from the bed would be nice), and the awful curtains. We didn't have any meals in-house so can't comment on them.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Steve36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews