We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite in Wellington!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“My new favourite in Wellington!”
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Overall I was very impressed with the Museum Hotel apartments. I stayed in a premier studio and for myself, it was perfectly fine. The decor is on the darker side and the lighting is quite subdued, so for relaxing it was great. However, as a work environment , I am not sure if the lighting would be adequate.

The premier studio has all the facilities as mentioned earlier, LCD TV, dishwasher, washer/dryer, microwave, cooker etc . All seemed in very good condition although I did not use any of them.

The bed was very comfortable and all in all, the studio ticked all the boxes for me.

The bathroom was quite compact but with a huge deep bath which i enjoyed. However, I cannot imagine how a person with any kind of mobility problems would be able to step over the edge of the bath comfortably. The rain shower was very nice indeed.

So, I will definately book the Museum Apartments on my next visit to Wellington. Cleanliness, quietness in the room, great central location, friendly and professional staff are all catered for. Free local calls too!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hemikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    587
    201
    61
    41
See reviews for
194
832
77
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada / New Zealand (Saskatoon / Havelock North)
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Great place if your stopping to catch the ferry.

Directly across from Te Papa , Which has got to be the "best thing for free "in NZL
Ferry terminals a short distance from there , as well as Aotea Quay etc.

Room was great! , Nice plush royal purple deco in the hallways.
Superbikes in the lobby! , Including one made for the late Ayrton Senna. Very cool

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brentykb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I stayed here for a few days while in town for a conference, and while the lobby areas give a rather weird initial impression (lots of strange art, dark curtains, mirrored surfaces etc), thankfully this theme wasn't carried through to the guest rooms.

I had a room in the residential block (at the rear), and it was perfect for my needs - a large, quiet room, with kitchenette (basic cooking facilities, full complement of utensils + dishwasher and washing machine/dryer), spotless bathroom with full spa tub and separate shower, plus comfortable seating area in the main room with a velvet-covered sofa.

I didn't eat in the hotel, but chose instead to pop to the supermarket behind the hotel to buy basic groceries for breakfast, which worked out well.

The hotel is ideally situated in Wellington, being opposite Te Papa, and just 10 minutes walk from the civic centre + Cuba Street/5 minutes from Courtney Place/10 minutes from Oriental Bay, each of which provide ample drinking & dining options.

Rear access to the hotel apartment block (from Wakefield Street) is handy, though it feels slightly exposing to have to ring the bell and then shout your room number for access.

All in all, a delightful stay at a well-positioned and well-maintained hotel in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Stayed in the apartments (different from the hotel rooms) for two nights on a work trip to Wellington. Having grown up in Wellington I was apprehensive about staying here based on things people have said about the hotel. Well, the apartments are just amazing. Beautifully styled in modern finish with luxurious finishes. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom was incredible - huge bath and a shower with two shower heads. Hotel is in a great location, just behind Courtenay Place and across the road from Te Papa Museum, close to everything really. Staff were great and very happy to help anything from taxis to restaurant bookings. The apartments are more expensive than the hotel rooms but are well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seamus_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Booked through Wotif also and got a great deal on a 1 Bed aprt with adjoining Twin Room. Both had kitchen facilities. Kids in their space and a living room/kitchen to separate the bedrooms.

Previous reviews list the various details but I've stayed in smaller appartments! We spent 3 nights there and we were all very comfortable. The rooms were very well equipped and we simply shopped for basics at the New World supermarket a block away to the West or Commonsense Organics just across the road.

We ate out just across towards Courtenay Place. Tonnes of good places to eat. Needless to say the location is fantastic.

I really enjoyed all the original artwork around the hotel. That was a nice touch. The service and staff were really good: efficient yet friendly. We took the valet parking and that was very convenient even though we only took the car out once. You can walk everywhere in Welli.

I used the pool every day. It's not the most asthetically pleasing pool but its great for laps. There is a small gym also beside the pool on the 1st floor.

No real gripes: internet isn't free anywhere in NZ hotels. They haven't got that message yet!! but the price at the Museum was the lowest i've seen but don't let the kids on it as it has a 100mb limit for the cheap rate.

overall really enjoyed it and would say, having stayed at the InterCon and the Duxton, that its the best place i've stayed at in Welli.

Obviously helps if you can secure a good deal on the price but at $260 a night for what we had I was very pleased.

  • Liked — Spacious.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Raf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
280 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

23/1/2009

Visited Wellington for a conference which lasted one week. The conference organisers suggested that all attendees stay at the Museum Hotel.

The hotel has rooms at the front overlooking the harbour and new rooms (3 years old) at the rear. I stayed in the new block which comprised a large room with cooking facilities, washing machine, sink, cutlery etc. King size bed and large bathroom with power shower and bath. Clean room and quiet apart from some limited road noise. My colleague who stayed in the harbour view rooms said they were ok but some refurbishment was needed.

I only ate breakfast in the hotel which was ok but not a very wide range of items for the buffet. I took breakfast later in the week across the road for a change of menu.

I really liked the ambience of the hotel which was slightly quirky and had more character than a chain hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was excellent and I would certainly stay again if visiting Wellington. Going by my colleague's comments I would opt for the new rooms at the rear rather than the harbour rooms.

  • Liked — The overall ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing specific but breakfast could be improved.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Antarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2009

I’ve stayed at the Museum hotel 3 times now, each time in the newer apartment wing. The lobby immediately puts you in mind of a luxury hotel, and the staff are always friendly, both by email, over the phone and in person. Each time I’ve booked a studio apartment, and twice I’ve received free upgrades to 1 bedroom apartments (one with a spa bath!) the third, which I booked through wotif I received the paid for a premium studio apartment.

Details of the apartments...

1 bedroom

Clean and modern, with a full (though compact) kitchen, a massive bathroom with a giant 2 person tub and rain shower and a rollaway door which separates the bedroom from the lounge. There is a TV in the bedroom and a separate door to the bathroom, and a small widescreen TV with surround sound in the lounge on a good sized desk. It also has two leather chairs . The room has a coffee machine, and mini bar prices are very reasonable. The apartments had opening windows, although there’s no view at all to speak of, they also weren’t terrible.

FYI – I took my mum down the second time and gave her the bedroom while I slept on the lounge – the 3 best nights sleep I’ve had in a long time!

Premium Studio

An almost exact replica of 1 brm apt. And was also very clean and modern. The lounge is slightly larger to incorporate the king size bed, a desk and the same TV, DVD and surround sound combo, although it has only one chair, not two. The bathroom had all the same amenities, but was smaller by about half, although I actually liked the layout of the bathroom better.

The view from this room was spectacular! I had uninterrupted views of Te Papa, the park and the bay. It was wonderful waking up to an ocean view each morning! My only very small complaint about this room is that it didn’t have opening windows – however as in the other rooms it had an option for aircon which you control.

Overall:

Both rooms were more than adequate, and I could happy stay in each for a couple of weeks without feeling claustrophobic. The menu offered for room service is less than average – although I’m not one for ‘fancy’ food – but there is a full kitchen so you can cook whatever you like. Other than the occasional closing door, you’d barely know there was anyone else in the hotel! With the windows closed you cannot hear any street noise either, although even with them open, it’s still pretty quiet, despite the central location.

However, while the hotel is wonderful I don’t think the rooms are really worth the cost, my first stay for 3 nights costing $600 and the second costing $900! Also, I usually hire a car while I’m there, and while there’s parking downstairs, it costs $20 a night. I will absolutely stay again, but only if I’m able to get a good deal through wotif.com or elsewhere and I won’t be getting a car if I stay there.

Because of the cost, I would recommend this for anyone wanting a luxury weekend ‘get away’ but not for a long term stay or a family.

  • Liked — Location, rooms stylish but 'home' like, quiet too
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DeViIIe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing