We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay again !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Second time staying at this hotel and loved it. Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment and could not ask for more. Close to restaurants, Te Papa, Waterfront. Loved the artwork and the decor. Only thing missing was an instruction manual for the espresso machine (not very technology minded)
All in all ... would highly recommend !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjkiwigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

You will be pleased to know I am in the process of updating the EXPRESSO machine instructions. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. We are currently in the middle of refurbishing all of our Hotel side rooms. It's a long process but the rewards will be great. Ask to be shown around next time you visit.
Chris parkin 021 459146.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel in a two bedroom suite and found it to be everything we wanted - great location, large room (across from Te Papa) with a galley kitchen, wonderful front desk service. Also enjoyed a drink in the lovely Hippopotamus bar. Very pleased with our choice and a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlsonFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Love to see you again. By then our refurbishment program will be completed. Probably a few new art works as well.
Chris parkin 021459146.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel (Harbour Wing) for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. The quirky hotel has a great atmosphere, with various artworks displayed. We found the concierges extremely helpful and knowledgeable about local attractions. The Hotel is obviously held in high esteem, as there were two art launchings just in the time we were there. While we didn't eat at the hotel's Hippopotamus Restaurant, it looked delightful, although pricy. It certainly was highly recommended by our cabbies to and from the airport (about $34NZ). The hotel is extremely close to numerous great restaurants and cafes. We had four fabulous meals in four different places. Everything is close by, including a supermarket over one road and the Te Papa Museum across another. The gym and lap pool were an added bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin07_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Kevin, thanks for your review. Pleased you enjoyed Wellingtons atmosphere, especially a selection of our restaurants, which I reckon are up there with the best internationally.
Let your fellow Sydney siders know what a great little place Wellington can be for a weekend. Fly Friday afternoon and with the early Monday flight be back at your desk by 9am.
You mentioned our art collection. This now extends to more than 100 works by contemporary NZ artists. Well worth a visit even if you aren't staying with us.
Regards
Chris Parkin 021 459146

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in the apartments and having a kitchenette was handy for our weeklong stay. The art and decor was fantastic and added quirkiness to this hotel. Our room was comfortable. The location is perfect to reach any Wellington attraction, everything is in walking distance and if you happen to be staying on a weekend, do yourself a favour and stop in at the farmers market! Great variety of food stalls to suit all tastes. Two downsides to this accommodation was the lack of opening windows, the room felt a bit stuffy and some more fresh air would have been really nice. the other issue was the level of street noise - some of it the expected traffic noise you get in city locations but mostly drunken revellers yelling out at all hours. Not the hotels fault and nothing they can really do but worth keeping in mind if you are looking for a quiet nights sleep in Wellington.

Room Tip: Apartment stays overlook the side street and do get a bit of traffic / late night revellers noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I enjoyed staying at the museum hotel . we had a balcony suite with great views of wellington and the harbour. the art works and special items in the hotel made it seem xtra special. the staff were great and the restaurant fantastic. a bit of a let down was our room it needed a redec and as I am not so keen on brown a more modern look and feel. My overall opinion was what a nice place to stay.Thank you for a lovely week end

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I really enjoyed the Museum Hotel. The location is perfect, the art is gorgeous, and the staff were exceptional. My room could use a revamp but I understand that is underway and there was absolutely nothing wrong with it from a functional point of view. I really appreciated the minibar and the decent amount of clothes storage. Hippopotamus had a lovely bar and Wellington's sexiest waiters on hand for cocktails, and all the staff were incredibly friendly and deserve a huge shout-out. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theproseclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The staff were very helpful and quick at check in. The art on display around the hotel is fantastic.

I was in the apartment block, no view but that was OK. The room was very nice, large with a kitchenette. The bathroom had a spa bath as well as separate shower. The hotel restaurant was superb and the staff there fantastic too. Great location in Wellington, close to the waterfront and just across from Te Papa.

Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiknakNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $153 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing