We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Everything in Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best of Everything in Wellington”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is the quintessential Wellington experience. It is perfectly located for a late night stumble home from the bars, weekend brunch, museum visit or quick getaway to the airport.

As a regular business traveler, the Museum hotel caters to my every need. The work desk is spacious without being intrusive in the rooms, there are accessible power points by the desk and the bed. No free wifi (really in this day and age...) but the Wellington CBD Free wifi is accessible from some rooms and works well.

The rooms are very well appointed, with large double baths and separate showers in many. Most rooms have an espresso machine and king size beds with a pillow menu. Little touches like a large supply of cotton buds (instead of a 3pack) and the quality of the mini-kitchen/laundry fit out make you wonder why every hotel doesn't look like this.

The food at the restaurant is is fantastic, if a bit overpriced. There are many many cheaper options 2-5min walk away but few that will give you a genuinely better meal. Unless I feel like staying in, I usually sample one of the many near by places.

The Art in the lobby is quite amazing, a bit of a spectacle perhaps but worth seeing.

I've stayed here on a regular basis for the past couple of years and it's become my go-to hotel in Wellington, without a doubt the best experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the apartment wing if possible. The rooms in the hotel wing are hit and miss, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeTravelerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    600
    205
    63
    41
See reviews for
197
851
81
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lovely hotel in a good location for tourists. Quirky but fun.They let themselves down in a few small but significant ways though. If they want to be considered as an "international standard hotel" then wifi should not cost $8 per day, the concierge service should be more regularly available and more knowledgeable (It isn't a big city after all. During our 3 night stay, on several occasion the desk was not manned, on one occasion they were supposed to book us a restaurant and forgot and their knowledge of the local restaurants was not great), and worst of all they wanted to charge a 2% surcharge for paying with your credit card (first time that has happened to me in any hotel!). The girls on reception were, however, always smiling, friendly and helpful All those added up to leaving us felling this was a quaint but not international quality hotel, albeit the room rates are not so "quaint".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIDAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Beautiful room, one of the recently refurbished ones, just stunning. The reception service and concierge staff were great. The Nespresso machine in the room was a lovely touch, it was also nice to be able to play my own music on the music docking system. The 11:00am checkout time was great, very unusual for NZ and much appreciated. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Wellington.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoABBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We arrived on a Friday evening with one of us not feeling well. We were taken back by the interesting and artfully beautiful lobby and woman's restroom, (a must see). We had room service for dinner as I only wanted soup, also the restaurant was booked completely. In the morning, they helped us find as after hours clinic and pharmacy, which was near the hotel. I am a retired RN, and I was very impressed with their care there and how well they took care of us. I received just what I needed to go on with my trip. The hotel was a wonderful place to stay and we really enjoyed the artwork around the hotel outside and inside, and the walking area with park and beautiful marina across from the hotel. I would suggest if planning to eat at the hippopotamus in the hotel, that you call and get a reservation the day before you want to eat there.

Room Tip: perhaps ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon after a long drive with one of us feeling unwell, all we wanted was a meal and an early night with a good sleep. The first blow was that the restaurant was closed due to a private function. The private function turned out to be a wedding which after their meal had dancing which went on until midnight which you might expect except it was directly above our room.
Next morning I said to a receptionist how disappointed I was and the response was that she would talk to the wedding party!! When I suggested it might be the hotel’s responsibility she couldn’t see that but did offer us a cup of coffee by way of compensation.
I then went to the restaurant to check what time we could come in for dinner only to be informed, rather curtly, that the restaurant was fully booked for that evening would I like to book for tomorrow. I pointed out we were staying in the hotel but this carried no weight; I declined to book for the next day.

This hotel has lost sight of its prime purpose and is more concerned with being a chic place to be seen by those who value such things and repository for the owner’s art and motorbikes. The reception/bar area gets populated by loud and ostentatious people.

It is disappointing that an hotel charging the rates they do and presumably satisfying business clients can’t even offer complimentary wifi in the rooms.

If you want a decent hotel I don’t recommend you stay here but if you wish to stay in an art gallery where the art and motorbikes are more important than concentrating on the core aspects of an hotel then this is for you.

Room Tip: if your room is under the dining room make sure that it hasn't been let out for a dance or simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alecver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed in Wellington for a Family Celebration and wanted a very good Restaurant and accommodation. This Hotel fitted our requirements very well. We were upgraded to a small Apartment and everything was at hand, A beautiful mea at Hippopotamusl with our family completed a great gathering.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Very unique hotel with great rooms and restaurant. A bit spendy for the apartment suites for what they are. Loved hippopotamus sis the six course meal with wine and it was amazing. Love that everything you want to see is within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene3396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing