We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room in a central location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely room in a central location.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A very stylish hotel in down town Wellington just across from the museum. We had a small balcony that overlooked the bay.
The room was well appointed but extra charges such as wi-fi, parking and a credit card surcharge are a bit 20th Century.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank route66weasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    587
    201
    61
    41
See reviews for
194
833
77
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
711 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Unfortunately my stay was soured at check-in when they surprised me with a 2% surcharge for use of ANY credit card! What century are they living in? Then $20 extra fir a car park. :( The rooms are really nice, in great condition and well appointed but I have chosen to give my business to others in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Glad you liked the Hotel. I'm surprised at your comment concerning parking charges. Unless it's part of a package deal, I've not come across an Hotel anywhere in the world that doesn't charge for valet parking! We are the least expensive of any Hotel in Wellington and your car is taken from you at the Hotel entrance, securely parked, and returned to you at your convenience. Frankly, it's cheap at the price. Alternatively,you can park your car freely on the street outside the Hotel, and it should be safe.
And Credit Card fees! These are also standard in the Hotel, Airline and many other industries. There is no charge for a DEBIT CARD, or for overseas visitors (who don't have debit cards.)
I hope you will come back, as you wont find a better hotel in Wellington, and certainly not one that provides free valet parking.
Our restaurant HIPPOPOTAMUS is nationally acclaimed. Our ART collection is extensive and highly regarded. An then there is the Pool and the Gym!!! Chris Parkin 021 459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is just the best hotel I stay in anywhere. Rooms are fantastic, great bathrooms and toiletries, fantastic decor, amazing art, and above all a fantastic French Cuisine restaurant. Excellent front of house service - very welcoming. It is well positioned to walk anywhere in Wellington, opposite Te Papa, handy to all waterfront activities and other areas of interest. Not cheap but worth every penny and often has really good deals. Only 15 minutes from the airport - allow a little more at peak times. Room I had last was in the older original section and I think these rooms are the best as you can get a balcony and good waterfront views. New section has great decor - very individual!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a waterfront view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Art Museum Hotel is relatively modern, has a good location situated on the waterfront conveniently close to a supermarket, fabulous museum, cafés and theatres etc. We stayed in the hotel's apartments which are spacious, very comfortably and thoughtfully furnished with everything needed for self-catering. The standard of service from all staff was excellent and there is also an excellent in-house restaurant quirkily named "The Hippopotamus" which provides wonderful food brilliantly presented and good value for money.
My only gripe is that you are charged for WiFi access in your room. However it is available free in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernonpopperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I used the Museum Hotel to get ready before and stay the night after my wedding. We had a harbour view balcony room which had a nice view over the Chaffers Marina. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable, and made a great base to get ready before my wedding ceremony. It was great to be able to park in the carpark right outside the entrance to the hotel. The location is fantastic, we had our wedding dinner just up the road and were able to walk back. In the morning we visited the Sunday market directly across the road, which is an absolute treasure. We bought some great produce and had breakfast from the many food carts.
Our one very small complaint would be that we couldn't quite get the 'rain' shower to work - it seemed to only produce cold water from the top fitting, and the bathroom sink drained very slowly. Otherwise we had a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: We were located in room 240 - a harbour view balcony room located on the second floor. This room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neurula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for providing your room number. We'll get right onto those items.
Congratulations on your wedding. I'm pleased we could be a small part of it. I' m getting married myself next March. Very exciting!
Chris parkin 021459146
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

we got off the ferry and were to tired to drive so found the apartment online. it was lovely. beautiful comfy beds and really nice pillows, big deep bath and a great rainhead shower. very compact kitchen but with everything you need including a coffee machine and a washing machine/dryer. There's a supermarket just down the road. it was so nice not having to check out until 11am. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Many of our travellers find the EXPRESSO coffee, and the WASHING MACHINES a delight when you have been on the road for a few days. Hope you found our Pool and Gym facilities, not to mention the Sauna.
Great location too. Right amongst the action. Museum, Sunday Market, Restaurants Nightspots.
Chris Parkin 021 459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breuil-Cervinia, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel om a nice location. However never see that uninterested staff with a smile and do not know anything if you ask something. It's through if you feet peanuts, you get monkeys. Further the owner have a good taste of art, is the reason I stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edwin356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,833 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing