We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, clean and spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, clean and spacious rooms”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for only 1 night and were fortunately upgraded from a harbour view room to a loft suite. The room was lovely, clean with beautiful leather couch, several armchairs and a huge balcony with harbour views. The bed was very comfortable and the service was good, this was a lovely hotel that lived up to it's website for decor, service and quality.

We didn't dine in the in house restaurant simply because it was too up market and expensive for a simple dinner on a stop over night. Having said that, we tried the room service with similar menu items as the restaurant and the food was lovely.

We were very comfortable staying at the Museum hotel on a stop over before we caught the ferry to the South Island.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fork Talk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    587
    201
    61
    41
See reviews for
194
832
77
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

this hotel completely lived up to the hopes i'd had for it. beautiful hotel and the room was exactly what i had pictured and seen online. beautiful view of the harbour from the balcony and even the hallways are beautiful.
this hotel was actually cheaper than another one i stayed in in the same area and was definately much much nicer.
didn't have time to check out the restaurant or pool, but would go back to wellington just to stay there again.
absolutely loved it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade_fleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had stayed here several times prior and always had wonderful experiences, so when visiting Wellington with my partner, I thought it would be a lovely treat.
Perhaps I messed up with my reservation, but the quality and spaciousness of the room I expected was a far cry from what we ended up with.
The plumbing wasn't ideal in the bathroom, and we ended up keeping the plug in the bath so as not to hear loud every time someone in another room used water. The cleanliness in the bathroom wasn't up to the usual standard either. either through unmonitered staff, or the lesser quality of room.
I recommend the apartments, however, and the public areas are stunning in a luscious, decadent kind of way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had pre booked two rooms, one was well appointed,second room was like a broom cupboard!! Both rooms were being charged at the same price but considerably different. Only when I complained did we get an identical room as the far superior room.Stayed for two nights some toiletries and coffee pods were not replaced!!! Even though the room rate was $271 per night!!! Very disappointing

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Came to this hotel as my husband had a work function to attend. Pleasantly surprised with all the facilities. It was nice to not have to go to reception for an iron and board as these were in the room. Stayed in a classic Room which was clean and the bed comfortable and was in a quiet wing of the hotel. Enjoyed the art. (Could suggest the owner he join an art club so that he can swap some pieces from time to time) . Thought the breakfast while fresh and varied was very expensive at $25. Loved the small touch of a typed note on the newspaper (which is free) every morning letting you know what the weather is meant to be for the day and some local events that are on in Wellington including the cost and where to find them. Well done to the friendly staff that were willing to help with all the needs of a traveller. Loveddddddddddddddd that you are so closer to the Harbour and being able to walk along it and visit the Te Papa museum which is across the road. Noisy air conditioner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed one night here recently and had booked a room with a harbor view but were surprised to look off our balcony straight at the enormous hippos bottom!! Not exactly what you expect when paying a premium price for a harbor view. However, we did enjoy the hotel and its lovely artwork and grandiose furniture and fittings.

Room Tip: Avoid the room overlooking the hippo on the balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamiltonkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Museum Hotel on business. Each time it is better. From the art scattered through the hotel to the delight of staying in a large building that has been picked up and moved to the pretty good restaurant and the quirky rooms the establishment is tremendous.

I am looking foreword to having a holiday there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naw_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing