We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel - Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Very unique hotel. Interesting art as well decor. Room was clean. Internet was at cost but reasonable but also fast. Food at the Hippo restaurant was good but nothing special. Location is close to art galleries, the museum, and a good number of restaurants and pubs all within walking (and safe) distance. I would stay here again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASPry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,179 - 1,185 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the apartments for 2 nightsMaster bedroom was in a balcony with floor to ceiling windows. Blinds did not shut out the light and room was cold. No hangers for towels and the sheets and towels were changed after 1st night. NOT environmentally friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It has been a long held wish of mine to stay at this hotel, so my daughters arranged a weekend for us in wellington - they flew in from Auckland & myself from the south, we all arrived early & knew we were unable to check in but the staff kindly looked after our bags and we returned in the afternoon. It seemed half of NZ had the same idea, none of the rooms were ready, the hotel was fully booked.
The hotel was wonderful and would return but I think the management need to look at increasing the level of cleaning staff so the place is ready for guests earlier, an hour in the lobby not good when you are travel weary as much of the crowd was & dying for a clean up and get to the rugby!
Great apartment room, nice bar, wonderful spa & gym - wish we had longer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenMavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My partner loved the art theme of this hotel - but I'm afraid it didn't do much for me. So I've tried to find a happy medium in this review.
The positives - very good service from the front desk to the concierge. The hotel is well situated - directly opposite the magnificent national Te Papa Museum and only a short walk to theatres and trendy Cuba Street. The bathroom was comfortable and well appointed with lots of goodies. The room faced Te Papa and the Harbour and was generous in size. We didn't eat in-house so I can't comment on the restaurant.
Frankly though, I found the hotel a little too noisy. The walls are well sound proofed and there is not much traffic noise, but the hotel doors bang loudly - the main culprit seems to be the steel balcony doors. I offered the opinion to my partner that without the art the hotel would be rather dull and ordinary. We discussed this through dinner (in Cuba Street) and could not agree. I conceded that if you like an art theme in a hotel, this could be the place for you.

Room Tip: Harbour view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickRJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for one evening for our wedding anniversary. The location is excellent. Within walking distance to any number of Wellington's great restaurants. The Hotel is very well appointed, and the room was lovely. The only negative comment was that both the reception and the bar at the Hippopotamus Restaurant seemed to be under-staffed. It took us a while to check in, and drinks took a bit too long to be served,...but these are very minor points.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nztayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Museum Hotel for a weekend away from Auckland. I was looking for a hotel with that extra touch ( not your bog standard ), and this hotel fit the bill. The decor is so original (art everywhere) and luxurious. The rooms are fitted with quality bath fittings/ kitchens. Good beds and showers. We stayed in the habour view apartments in the new building, which had great views of th ehorbour and was quiet. Also the staff were so friendly and helpful They always enjoyed chatting....and gave us good " locals" advice on where to eat and what to visit. Also the location is walking distance to everything you want to do in the CBD.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlevankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a Fri night. The staff were lovely and the reception had a great buzz about it. We had a glass of wine while waiting to check in and it was a lovely area to sit in and people watch and see all the great art work. The bar upstairs is amazing as well and we loved the decor. The rooms are small but we were expecting that and did not mind. What really lets it down is the bathroom. Plastic discoloured towel rails and a shoddy shower with bad water pressure. They really need to spend some money on this as I can't see how you can be 5 star without a luxurious bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
811 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $155 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing