We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel For Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury Hotel For Weekend Away”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Museum Hotel for a weekend away from Auckland. I was looking for a hotel with that extra touch ( not your bog standard ), and this hotel fit the bill. The decor is so original (art everywhere) and luxurious. The rooms are fitted with quality bath fittings/ kitchens. Good beds and showers. We stayed in the habour view apartments in the new building, which had great views of th ehorbour and was quiet. Also the staff were so friendly and helpful They always enjoyed chatting....and gave us good " locals" advice on where to eat and what to visit. Also the location is walking distance to everything you want to do in the CBD.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlevankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    587
    201
    61
    41
See reviews for
194
833
77
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a Fri night. The staff were lovely and the reception had a great buzz about it. We had a glass of wine while waiting to check in and it was a lovely area to sit in and people watch and see all the great art work. The bar upstairs is amazing as well and we loved the decor. The rooms are small but we were expecting that and did not mind. What really lets it down is the bathroom. Plastic discoloured towel rails and a shoddy shower with bad water pressure. They really need to spend some money on this as I can't see how you can be 5 star without a luxurious bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a level 2 room.
The hotel has an 'arty' vibe but unfortunately the cleanliness of the room was a major let down.

There was dirt or probably worse! - encrusted on the flush button and on the base of the toilet.

There were several long hairs on top of the bed sheet. The beds also have the classic 'not changed often' bed spreads which don't inspire confidence on cleanliness standards.

Staff at front desk were friendly enough. We were evacuated at 3am with a false fire alarm. The firemen gave us clearance to go back in but no word from staff in terms of an apology / explanation.

For me, the location is good but poor cleanliness probably won't make up for it.

The hotel manager needs to review the cleaning service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auckland1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

In April, I spent 2 weeks at this hotel in a one bedroom apartment on the 7th floor. From the moment I walked through the door I knew this is not your regular hotel. The "art" is an epileptic mix and really needs to be seen.to be appreciated. Put it this way - walking through the reception area was never boring. An especially nice touch was the music that played in the background - Split Enz. How Kiwi!

At check-in, the staff were smiling, happy to help, even offering coffee while waiting to check in. There is no porter service, so keep that in mind if you need this. The building is in two parts. Hotel on one side (closer to the harbor) and the apartments (closer to Courtney place). The apartment building also houses the gym and pool is on the first floor. Both of which are small but more than adequate.

The room itself was excellent. Plenty of space. A large kitchen and refrigerator with plenty of pantry space and the dishwasher just made things that much easier. The bathroom was small in comparison with the rest of the room but not uncomfortable.

The living room had a large leather couch which I fell asleep on more than once. The TV was a large flat screen which also had limited cable access. There were 2 large windows which could be opened, but not fully, and these could be covered by block-out curtains if needed.

The bedroom had a queen size bed which was a,little firm but not uncomfortably so. There was also a large built in wardrobe which was more than adequate.

Other plus's were the air conditioning, coffee machine and the clothes washer/drier.

All \in all, I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future for either work or leisure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fires72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I always feel that the Museum hotel is like my grandmother: tarted up with art. The basic infrastructure is not that great, with poor insulation and noisy rooms--I've stayed in the front of the hotel--gets busy from traffic down the street, and aso in the back--from the on-and-off sound of the ?air conditioning? or whatever heavy appliances are going about their business.
The bed is very comfortable. The toiletries are unique to the hotel. The breakfast is mostly a-la-carte.
However, the hotel is very convenient to Courtney Place, and to Te Papa Museum, in front of it. You can jog along Marine Parade. Also the hotel is along the way to the airport, so for a business traveler staying just for a night, it is the place to be.

Room Tip: A higher floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here on two different occasions and always felt at home and welcome. The art collection is quite cool to check out. The rooms are great and love the bathroom for the tub and rain-head shower. The location is great as you can walk anywhere you need to get to in downtown Welly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Early check in appreciated, and with most of our stay the staff were very obliging however, our room - a small apartment, had several deficiencies. Within seconds of entering the room, a movable storage cupboard which housed both crockery and glassware, being top heavy, dislodged its contents (poor design or careless over stacking). To the credit of the housekeeper, this was attended to without fuss. Several lamps had blown bulbs throughout the apartment. At times the room was a little noisy due to it's proximity to their fitness centre. A comfortable bed albeit lacking in warmth. The biggest issue we had was our inability to obtain a constant stream of warm to hot water from the shower without flooding the entire bathroom. We appreciated this was a disabled room but seriously doubt a disabled or fully incapacitated guest could achieve a satisfactory shower. Staff are the best thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,833 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing