We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Art Collection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We've stayed at the Museum Art Hotel several times over the years, the last time being two weeks ago. The room itself was of a good standard - met our expectations, the decor including the art collection is the main feature of the hotel, and well worth a look through. Don't forget to ask for the art works catalogue at reception to get more information. Hotel location is well suited for Te Papa visits, and to be close to Courtney Place and Cuba Mall area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-S-0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Wellington for 3 nights. We were in Wellington to watch the AFL football game Saints v Swans. The hotel is in a great location near the waterfront, 15 minute walk from the stadium and on the edge of the CBD. The room was called a studio room, it was really just a large hotel room but with a few kitchen facilities, coffee machine, oven and sink. However a downside was the lack of an opening window, which meant the room was a bit stuffy and we had to use the aircon. The pool and spa were excellent, pool was big enough to swim laps. There is a good food market just outside on Sunday. Our room didn't include breakfast so we didn't eat in the hotel, but there were many food options around (including the market). The great art work in the large foyer is a real feature - made returning to the hotel each time a pleasure and there were so many different bits that you noticed something 'new; each time. We will stay here again, next year when the footy returns, attracted by the location, the art and the pool.

Room Tip: See if there are rooms with opening windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boytts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place has atmosphere, good people, good rooms and is always a pleasure. As a jaded regular traveller I look forward to staying here. The location is excellent and it's one of the few places I can think of where you can sit down for a drink and soon find yourself in a pleasant conversation with others around. And as a bike racer I enjoy the MV's in the foyer. Definitely my favourite hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrvlaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Not cheap but quality for value with stylish environment and modern accoutrements. Breakfast better in restaurant than in room. Attractive and efficient human and physical infrastructure. Motor bike history and art display noteworthy. Convenient to eating options.

Room Tip: Free in room (by window) WiFi connecting to "cbd" & hotel WiFi free in lobby - i.e., d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The fact that Te Papa (major NZ museum) is opposite this hotel makes it a superb place to stay. You'd need days on end to get the maximum out of Te Papa, so being within 5 minutes is a huge bonus. It has late nights, too, so you have a brilliant evening's entertainment entirely free! The hotel lobby has some terrific contemporary art work on display, which means that there is a different feel from the run-of-the-mill city stopover. It's convenient, too, for walking into Wellington, which is a real treat, especially in the evening. Rooms are very good and probably not over-expensive for a capital city. We didn't eat here, but it's an excellent base for looking round the local streets for a restaurant to suit you. (NB - watch out for the hotel wi-fi charge - you can use the free service on the lobby computers instead!)

Room Tip: Check online for budget deals - get a very good price for a capital city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rse13nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I visit Wellington frequently (from the UK) and have stayed at the Museum every visit bar one (when they were full), That makes about 20 stays.

For the business traveller it has some big plusses and a couple of small drawbacks.

Firstly it is very well located across the road from the port/marina but within easy walking distance from the centre of town. It's also on the right side of the city for the airport.

The hotel is frequently described as "quirky" due to large amount of art on display. This is a misnomer as it's a well run hotel with excellent facilities. I really like the fact that it's an independent and is far from "bland".

The hotel has 2 accommodation blocks. The original block overlooks looks the harbour and it's worth asking for a sea view room as it's very picturesque. The new block, called the appartments however is the place to stay for the business traveller. The rooms don't have the same nice view but they are bigger and very well appointed. As well as a decent sized bed, good working desk, very comfortable desk chair these rooms have kitchenettes, washing machine, etc etc. So very good for a longer stay. Also the rooms have decent lighting, a rarity nowadays in many hotels.

The Hippopotamus restaurant is worth a visit even if you are not staying at the hotel. The menu evolves quite frequently and there is always a very good choice of very well prepared dishes. Bit meat centric though for fish eaters like me. There is a very good a la carte breakfast menu or you can help yourself to the buffet. This is ok but they need to do much better on the fresh fruit. The amount laid out in the buffet always looks mingy and as if it's seen better days. Coffees are brilliant as is the real freshly squeezed orange juice. The restaurant staff all seem to have been there for some time and do a great job. Very attentive. Once again a far better experience that the so-called best hotel downtown.

Hotel also has a small gym although quite often it's full and is too small for a hotel of this size.

There are a few areas where they could do better. The internet arrangements are poor for the business traveller. The rooms and public rooms are served by wireless LAN. However it's relatively slow. In this day and age a hotel of this class should not be charging for internet access. It's a basic need - not an optional extra in my opinion. At the museum you have to pay multiple times for multiple devices which is a disgrace. Also the daily data allowance is far too small and extra charges accrue after you've used up your allowance. Be careful if you are downloading content as these charges will mount up.

Another problem is the in-hotel laundry service. It's only slightly cheaper than the send-out service but quicker. However charging NZ$5 for a shirt and then returning it un-ironed is not acceptable.

Finally on the day I checked out I requested a slightly later check-out (1pm rather than 12pm). Not only was this refused but I found the front desk person who dealt with my request somewhat rude. The hotel actually doesn't seem to have an notion that it should be nice to frequent visitors.

Having said all this I would still recommend this hotel as the place to stay in Wellington and I will continue to use it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jgordon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

What more can I say. This is the best hotel we stay in, that's why we keep going back. We love the Museum Hotel, it feels like our home away from home, only better!! The rooms are beautiful, comfortable beds, amazing bathrooms with the best baths - luxury plus. The staff are so helpful and friendly, nothing is ever a problem. The art work around the hotel is incredible and so much fun to view. We love the outdoor gallery (cool bikes). Hippo the restaurant is amazing, with the best food and gorgeous French waiters!! There is no other hotel with this much cool factor. Go see for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,927 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $154 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing