We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine staying anyplace else in Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Can't imagine staying anyplace else in Wellington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

For those lucky enough to be in Wellington for work or pleasure, I can't imagine a better place to stay than the Museum Hotel which is across the street from the Te Papa Museum and a few minutes walk to almost all of the major sites within the city center. For a few more dollars - the Apartment units are great for longer stays as they offer in-room kitchenettes and washer/dryer! All of the soaps, liquids and incredible coffee for the in room espresso machine or french press are complimentary. The bathroom is well appointed with a huge tub and walk-in shower, lots of mirrors and nice amenities. If the bathroom lighting was a bit brighter - it would not be a bad thing. The rooms are quiet with great sun-blocking shades!

The service staff are exemplary and should be cloned and sent to work at all of the other hotels I've stayed in NZ. Simply wonderful - always helpful!

Although their restaurant - The Hippopotamus - is quite good with a great selection of wines at the bar, there are so many food options a few feet away that I don't believe it gets the traffic it deserves. Oh, and take a few minutes to check out the art that is displayed throughout the public areas of the hotel - it is the perfect vibe for this great hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $$ and go for the Apartment units - you will be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joepure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    572
    201
    59
    41
See reviews for
190
815
77
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The giant hippopotamus on the outside is only an indication of the eclectic interior of this centrally located icon of Wellington. Situated straight across from Te Papa and the waterfront, it is tempting to spend all your time out and about, but exploring the art and sculpture collection to be found in the corridors, lobby, bars and restaurant of this amazing building is an experience in itself. It is not your average place to stay. The conference centre on the top floor is very distracting, with amazing views across the water. I plan to return for pleasure very soon.

Room Tip: Even the cheapest rooms are well appointed but the higher up you go, the better the views, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamondshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A stylish warm & comfortable "art hotel", this boutique hotel has the best most comfortable beds in town. Some rooms with balconies, apartments for families across the street. Walking distance to all major attractions & town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WernMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This would have to be one of the most beautiful boutique hotels I have ever stayed in. The Museum Hotel, Wellington, is conveniently located across the road from Te Papa Museum, hence the name. Every inch of the hotel, from the impressive facade with a gigantic Hippopotamus, to the entrance lobby, rooms, and restaurant, are tastefully decorated with abstract pieces of modern art, including sculptures and paintings. The staff, the majority of whom are European, are friendly, smiling, and swift at attending to your needs. Free coffee and apples are available in the lobby, and Wifi is strong throughout the hotel. There is a fantastic 2-lane lap pool, about 20 metres long, a functional gym, and a sauna. I am staying in an ‘apartment’-style room, which has its own fully equipped kitchen, laundry, entertainment devices with iPod connectivity, and good quality toilet amenities including massive aromatic bath balls for the oversized bath! Breakfast was a real treat in the fabulous dining room (see my breakfast museli trifle below). At $NZ250 per night, it is HIGHLY recommended. You can read all my reviews at: https://hotelsandairlines.wordpress.com/

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stay at the Museum Hotel for our family trip to Wellington. I choose this hotel because of the great photos of the room on their website. This was the first accommodation where I have found the rooms to be as good in person as they were portrayed in the photos. The room we stayed in had everything we needed and more. The rooms were very quite even though it was next to the busy main road. It was conveniently located next to all the great restaurants and shops in town. The only thing we didn't like about this Hotel was the food. The on site restaurant was a french styled restaurant, the food wasn't very good in my opinion and really over priced. Apart from that it was a great stay.

Room Tip: If you don't like fancy food definitely stay away from their on site restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for your review. Shame our restaurant was a bit of a disappointment. We are certainly at the upper end of Wellington restaurants price-wise, and although our cusine is very highly regarded, I can see how it is not for everyone. However, we do have more than 50 other great restaurants within walking distance, and I'm always happy to recommend the best of them. Next time you vist please ask for me and I'll give you some great recommendations.
Regards
Chris Parkin 021 459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
269 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Always like this hotel, friendly, comfortable rooms and service is very good.

Location is ideal to get to where you need to in Wellington City. Unfortunately, as I was here for work so didn't have a lot of time to explore and when the weather is nice it is a great place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Its not the cheapest hotel in Wellington and it was chosen for a change from other hotels and it seems that the bathroom was not cleaned properly that day (hairs on wall and obvious urine around toilet pan) didn't enhance the dated decor (paint flaking, small cracks in the bathroom rooms).

The bedroom was much better and everything great - but the TV reception was so bad we could not watch any local tv or sky.

Staff were generally friendly and helpful but seemed a little thin on the ground so waiting, waiting, waiting for a person to get your car). Often no one on desk and a queue of patrons waiting.

Then its $12 for internet and $20 for parking - extra on top.

I think if a little attention to detail is made, it would be a great stay and the location is fantastic - can't be faulted. Fixing the little stuff goes a long way, charging for extras with this not so good.

Won't be going back - for the same money should get a better value.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing